Writing Skills: The man, who is wearing blue, is my boss Vs The man who is wearing blue is my boss.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

When we need to emphasize something or to show our writing skills we need to understand and construct complex sentences. In the journey of learning them, we accomplished how to comprehend the noun clause. Now, moving further, I would like to share some knowledge on one of the dependent clauses, that is an adjective clause. It definitely helps you with your writing, reading, and even speaking.

Adjective Clause

The adjective clause, sometimes known as a relative clause, majorly modifies the noun in the sentence. It is easy to understand that adjective clause is a combination of both the function of adjective and the function of the clause. It often follows the noun it is modifying.
For example, the man who is in the blue shirt is my boss.
The punctuations here can confuse us. The difference between “the man, who is in the blue shirt, is my boss” and “the man who is in the blue shirt is my boss” can be known after learning about defining and modifying the clause.

Image Credits

Defining Adjective Clause

  1. The clause is necessary to understand the sentence.
  2. This clause explains which person or thing we are referring to
  3. This clause will not have commas on both sides.
    For example, “the man who is in the blue shirt is my boss.”
    Here, the adjective clause is modifying the noun “man” and it needs to be included in order to understand who the man is. In other words, “the man is my boss” in the sentence you may get confused to know who the man is.
    More examples :
    “The man who was speaking with me when you came is my best friend.”
    “I love to have the dress that she is wearing.”
    “I still remember the time when I used to walk for two hours to get to my office.”
    “I would like to share my chocolate with whom I can get the other one.”
    The adjective clauses here are very necessary to complete the idea. It is significant to remember that an adjective clause often begins with a relative pronoun like that, who, whom, whose, why etc.

Non-defining Adjective Clause

  1. This adjective clause gives extra information, which may not be required.
  2. This clause is not necessary to understand the whole thing.
  3. This clause will have commas on both sides.
    Paris, which has an awesome nightlife, is my favourite place to visit.
    Here no one can need to explain about the place Paris, but the clause mentioned is just extra information. We can actually understand the sentence “Paris is my favourite place to visit” without the extra clause. Hence, the clause is kept between commas.
    More examples:
    The man, whom I had never met before, offered me a dinner.
    My friend Jay, who is from Australia, is waiting downstairs.
    Mr. Dean, who is a doctor, lives next door.
    It is significant to note that “which” is always a Non-defining relative pronoun and so it does follow a comma. And in non-defining we cannot use the word “ that”.

Adjective Clause with a Preposition, noun, and quantifier

To get a verity of sentences in your written English, we must learn how to use prepositions, nouns, and quantifiers in adjective clauses.

Adjective Clause with a quantifier

For example, “I have nearly ten friends, all of whom are living in Australia. “
A quantifier is a word or a pronoun that shows a quantity. For example, some, many, neither etc. An adjective clause with quantifiers are often non-defining, hence it provides extra information.
For example, “I have two cars, both of which are from the same brand. “

Adjective Clause with a Preposition

For example, “I have some chia seeds, with which I can make a delicious pudding.”
“Jane has a younger sister, with whom she usually goes to school. “
The original sentence here is,” Jane has a younger sister. She usually goes to school with her.”

Adjective Clause with a noun

“I have a dress, the colour of which is red.”
“I took a test yesterday, the result of which will be declared tomorrow.”

Disclaimer: I am an English language learner by passion and appearing English language test Soon. I thought sharing different concepts will be useful to others. Please let me know if you have any suggestions.

Sort:  

Great job, thanks a bunch for sharing!

Namaste :)

Well explained - thanks

Thanks :)

Nice bit of knowledge thanks for sharing it will try to use it when writing my post's thanks a bunch!

this is actualy quite usefull, Thanks alot.

not a problem keep it up would love to see more

Thanks for the lesson, these things will certainly help my writing skills! Thank you for sharing!

My pleasure:)

This is very important for us to know,thank you for sharing

You are welcome :)

Very useful article..!! For beginner like to me, began writer is something which difficult!! Thank you for sharing @jli

I am glad to hear that :)

Good post to your sharing!
Good luck!
Thanks

Thanks :)

This is really educative. Thanks so much sir. I've learned so much today

That's great. keep learning.

an even simpler way of still emphasizing the necessary details would be:

"My boss is the man wearing blue."

while there's nothing wrong with either of the two sentences in your title, they're really clunky and awkward (despite being grammatically correct).

often, over-complicating a sentence can lose the reader before they ever even finish the sentence. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50