Writing Tips: Types of Sentence Structures

in #writing7 years ago

Many people, including me, struggle to comprehend the exact meaning of the article, which is posted on any website or any newspaper. This may not be a major problem for native English speakers, but it might be a big issue for those who have English as their second or third language. Today I would like to share some knowledge, which I have learned from past two months, could help you to improve your writing skills.


Image Credits

Learning language is often an art and sometimes it is necessary because we know that nowadays many conversations and written commitments are in English language, and we have to accept it. For me, learning a language is fun unless it is intriguing. Let us dive into the topic mentioned to improve your writing and reading skills.

Before discussing the types of sentence, we need to understand that what a sentence is. A sentence is a group of words that has a subject and a predicate and offers you a complete idea. Moreover, a sentence must contain at least one independent clause. An independent clause is a group of words that has, at the minimum, a subject and a verb.

On the one hand, an independent clause is independent, as the name shows, with which we can understand the complete meaning. For example,” I like reading.” This clause has a subject and a verb which are “I and like” respectively, and it gives a complete idea.

A dependent clause, on the other hand, needs an independent clause to complete the idea. For example, “if you come here.” Here we cannot able to understand the complete idea. However, this makes sense “if you come here, I will be glad.” So now, it is more understandable. Here “if you come here” is a dependent clause and “I will be glad.” is an independent clause. A point should be noted here is, “I will be glad” alone can make sense but not with “If you come here”. Now you can able to identify a dependent clause and an independent clause.

Now, coming to the topic of types of sentences, we have four types.

  1. Simple sentence
  2. Compound sentence
  3. Complex sentence
  4. Complex compound sentence.

Simple sentence: It has one independent clause. This has only one subject and one verb. A long sentence is not necessarily a complex sentence. It can be a simple sentence if it has a single subject-verb combination.
Example: I like to watch television.

Compound sentence: It has at least two independent clauses connected by a conjunction such as but, and, yet and so on.
Example: I like to watch television, and my sister likes to read books.

Complex sentence: It has at least one independent clause with one or more dependent clauses.
Example: Although he is rich, he is a miser.

Complex compound sentence: It is a combination of both complex and compound sentences.
Example: I called my sister to congratulate her, but she was quite busy that she couldn’t answer my call.

This is just a brief explanation. If you find it useful or if you want me to know more please do let me know.

Sort:  

Hola muchas gracias de verdad que es de gran utilidad.. Sigue publicado cosas así.

fingers.png

Congratulations @jlife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post!

I also think your writing improves when you let go of all fear and just let your thoughts pour out on to the paper. Do now worry about mistakes until you are done. Only edit after you are done writing.

Keeping a journal is a great way of improving one's writing. But do read what you wrote right after you are done and make the necessary edits, 2 days after you are done, a week after you are done and a month after and you will be able to see more of your mistakes and correct them.

Checkout my article on improving spoken English

https://steemit.com/english/@codero/improve-your-speaking-fluency

Follow me @codero

Thank you, indeed that's a great way to improve.

Excellent, very didactic your post ... congratulations ✔ 🔟

There is nothing better learning a new language; it's fun. Your post says it all; I take every occasion as a learning one. Guess what? You have added more to the little I knew. Keep us learning. English is my second language and I keep learning more every single day!

Even I am learning the English language every single day. cheers :)

Great article! As a future English teacher this comes really in handy

English is my second language. I'm from Holland, so we learn English at school. I'm also partly German, so I speak three languages. Writing is a different stry though. Learning every single day.

It is a second language for me too. so I keep on learning new things when I get time. :)

I'm more comfortable speaking than writing, this is my big trouble being here in steemit. I could tell a lot of stories, I could give long explanation about my interest subject. But whenever I face a white paper to write my thoughts. I don't know but my mind always went blank. One trick I'm doing now is to record what I say before writing. It's hard for me but I believe in the power of practice. So practice, practice and practice. I can say that I'm improving now. :)

Yes, practice is the key to success especially in learning languages.

There are so many stuff in the English, it's my second languaje but still learning things just like spanish. Thanks for this post. cheers!

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66