History of Memes: Part 1

in #writing6 years ago

The Hampsterdance Song.
In my research into the history of memes I read about the first internet meme sensation back in 2000. I have never heard of this meme so naturally I was curious.
The Boomtang Boys produced it and used a hook sped up from the Roger Miller song "whistle stop." This song was originally featured in the 1973 Disney Film Robin Hood, which I have never seen either. Back in 2000 I was not aware of what a meme was. I later started noticing them around 2007 to 2008.
The meme started as a web page in 1998 created by Canadian art student Deidre La carte.Hampster_Dance_single.jpg
Originally the site was a single page made up of four hamsters dancing in an animated gif to the looked track. From August 98 to March 99 the site received about 800 hits but within 4 days had quickly grown to 60,000 hits.
This is a prime example of how something catchy and infectious on the internet can spread to the masses and bring some laughter and joy to those seeking these basic human needs.
Feel free to share your thoughts on my findings and leave me a comment on a meme you want me to research. What are some of your favorite memes and how did you discover them?

Sort:  

I may have seen that meme back in the day. There were a lot of pretty creative gifs back then.

Congratulations @joelithic33! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @joelithic33! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63