You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shorter Paragraphs Are Easier On The Eyes

in #writing5 years ago

While I agree with you in general about short paragraphs you must realize there's an aesthetic beyond small bites and baby steps. You make the point that electronic media has altered the playing field and that's true, but it has also shortened the attention span.

Readers today tend more to be viewers - they are not literate in the traditional sense but more in terms of a 'media literacy'. In fact, readers will not in all likelihood plough through your longish post despite your headers and bold type. I try to aim for 500-700 words, but I'm not blogging - I'm creating literary art and posting stories and poems and even serializing novels exclusively designed for Steemit, although I don't flog that aspect - it seems too unseemly.

I tend to go beyond short paragraphs and gather them into sections with more white space, of course. There are different exigencies that come into play according to different genres of writing. You might want to look into how clarity and appeal could apply to these other types of posts.

Overall, you did a good job presenting your ideas and I think all members of the community could benefit from persisting and reading your post thoroughly and implementing your observations. Good work.

Sort:  

The post is 1180 words which includes the example paragraph of 274 x 2 words = 548 .. I totally expected most people would not read through the example more than scan to see the difference in layout. That brings the post down to 632 words. So there was a method in my madness :)

Ah, skimming and scanning - skills that aren't taught much anymore - I met an Engineer once who told me after he left university that he discovered the Index in the back of books - "Could have used that nifty tool," he remarked. Uh, yeah...

oh my indexes and TOCs... basic and important tools.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81