You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Rise and Fall of the Ta Ta : Short Story

in #writing7 years ago

This is beautiful and imaginative. It's hard to merge poetry and prose although I try it from time to time. This is a touching allegory and would work as well in prose as in poetry. Milton would use narrative and tell epic stories in verse. It's funny but I could see this working as a colourfully illustrated children's book because there's comprehension on different levels and that's what happened to Gulliver's Travels and Alice in Wonderland. Your tale is mythical and epic - but let me give you one word of caution - not everyone has educated sensibilities and a contest is only as good as its judges. Whether you win or lose don't let it break your heart, because this is good.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your well considered reply. I've done this contest for a couple of years now and no longer expect to win. The winners always seem entirely random and last year the out and out winner (from An Audience perspective, )only got a second! I've changed the ending a little so it is more well-rounded( as in how the Earth now worships the sun.) I'm also going to try and learn as much as I can off by heart as I always feel that gives it a completely different slant and is better from a performance point of view. I'm just hoping to get through the heats at this stage. The first year I did this context the stories weren't very much but last year they blew me away. I had been foolish and only written mine the night before - I suppose based on the quality of the previous year . Lesson learnt! This is my second major re drafting and I've slept on it a few times :) by the way means a lot coming from you that you like it. I was trying to think who your writing reminds me of and I think it is Lee Child's. I think I am discovering I can only write fantasy :)

I can see that you have good insight into your art - that's important. We all follow different paths and you're right - your lane is fantasy. I didn't know about Lee Childs but after your comment, I read a New York Times article on him. His books look interesting and I'll try to get hold of one. Thank you!

I think from memory lee childs is very punchy with his prose. He's also a mega best seller!!

Oh,well then I'll take that compliment! Seriously though, his series of novels seem interesting and I am intrigued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83