Memento MoristeemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I was tired of hearing so many voices, in my house, in the street, in the shops, I wanted some peace, some tranquility, I had to get away from everyone. Not far away there was a forest, where the hunters were going to get their trophies, what a stupid activity, but I do not criticize them, if killing animals for them is pure adrenaline, so be it, everyone lives their life in their own way, but let them be aware that one day they will pay for their actions.

unsplash

The more I walked, the light of the small town where I was was finishing, I did not see the road, I could not see where I was walking, I was walking blindly in a place that I did not know where I was going, I could have scared, but it is life itself, a path that you only follow without knowing where it takes you.


While I took a cigarette out of my pocket and used my cigarette lighter to light it, I heard some footsteps, something away from where it was for the sound of the leaves breaking in footsteps, I knew that someone or something was close to me, I could not see who it was or who , so I just kept walking, every time I moved I heard more steps near me, I stayed quiet, trying to hear something else, when I heard a growl... They were wolves stalking their prey and unfortunately it was me.


And there I was, in a forest, cornered by ferocious wolves in the night, I could not see the path clearly, I hoped that my eyes would adapt to the darkness to be able to better observe my surroundings, but I could not focus, I only heard the grunts of the wolves and the steps closer to me, in a situation where I could not do anything, I did not know where the first attack would come from, when or what the wolves will do, a situation where I did not know how to escape.


unsplash

Waiting for some miraculous light to illuminate my path or at least the knowledge that I was not alone with the wolves, I did not know whether to run because I thought it was useless, they were more and everyone knows they are faster than an average human, I thought about how I could even kill them, but I had nothing I could use and I think I could not even have done it, when I heard some sound of pain from some of them, I could not continue.


What should I do? It's what I was wondering as I stood still, listening as the wolves approached me, but I could remember a phrase I had read before, Memento Mori, it's Latin and it means "Remember you're going to die." That I remembered that phrase at that moment was not a coincidence for me, so, with all the fear I had, I sat on the floor, took a deep breath, closed my eyes and started talking to the wolves.


You can say that I am crazy, but if my destiny was to die there, I had to accept it, if I ran with despair or attacked them without knowing how many they were and where they were, it was screaming with despair that I would live when my odds were 0. When talk to the wolves only said things like "Do not be so hard on me, I really like the wolves", "I want you to use my skin to cover your puppies", "If you will put my head as a trophy at least shave me, I forgot before coming", I used that style of comments to hide how terrified I was.

unsplash

And for some reason, the steps ceased, nothing more was heard than the air between the trees and, before I knew it, the steps were heard far away, they had spared my life, I waited a while until I heard nothing but no were my own thoughts and then went to my house, scared, not knowing how to explain the situation or how it happened, I could only remember the phrase in Latin again.

Memento mori, remember that you are going to die.

unsplash

I hope you liked it, if you want to give me some advice to continue writing, you can leave it in the comments, thank you very much for reading.

FOLLOW ME

Instagram

Steemit

Do you want to have more visibility in your posts and more upvote? try with SteemFollower

Do you want to win cryptocurrencies totally free? Well I have what you want, just go through my post right here and you'll know the various ways to win free cryptocurrencies.

Sort:  

I like the skull picture! And upvote for your article!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by joseda32 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94