Is anybody even reading this?

in #writing6 years ago

Or are you just scrolling through, clicking the upvote button to show those who are viewing your name on their upvotes that you are an active user that's worth an upvote in return?


Sure, I've caught myself doing this every so often when I don't have the time to read 5 hours worth of blogs. But, that doesn't mean that what you bring to the table doesn't have value.


I could be wrong.


You could actually be a person that just copies and pastes something generic off the web and have a good bot system set up to where it wouldn't matter if you got real votes or not.


Who knows?


You could be a person that puts actual effort into your posts. Maybe you have an awesome following that just plays the scrolling game with you, upvoting all your posts, caus they like everything you do at all times and nothing you do or say could be wrong.


To be fair, I have come across a lot of users here who have amazing stories to tell and messages to share. We're all on our own path and it makes for a fantastic community.


To a degree, for me. It feels like an act.



Like, sure, maybe some of you actually give a shit about each other and want to build a community of people who basically just pays each other for being who they are. Groovy. I'm on board with you guys on that.


But there's something there. Something that screams to me that it's all scripted. Every last word, photo, video, expression, emotion; scripted. As if it were a game that people have to play or else they won't get those likes. If you don't wake up,  interact with people, make a post, and be part of the community, you're punished for not being a "Team Player" by getting absolutely zero votes and less followers.


Am I being sour?


No. I get it. I understand it. Why am I myself not making 100-1,000 a post? Perhaps I'm not doing very well in my writing. Perhaps I'm not explaining something in my post at the level people here want to experience. Does it piss me off, sometimes. Am I going to hold it against the community? Shit, no.


Maybe, it's all in my head.

Maybe, you are ALL legit.


But, it doesn't separate the idea that every post I come across feels fishy.


Don't get me wrong, I'm going to upvote the fuck out of what I like. This mainly falls into the artsier part of the community.


I wish I could afford to post more. Unfortunately, I have a physical job I have to tend to everyday. I'd like to be more active. However, I simply can't afford it.


But, I'm gonna keep trying my darndest to reach out to you people who determine whether I reach my goal for some new Photography equipment or not. I've never been good with saving, so I've just been keeping it in here. For me, Steemit Dollars is invisible until the goal is met.


If you have something to add to this, let's discuss in the comments.



Sort:  

I guess there's a bit of everything you describe in this community @joviandres - some are fakes and actors, some cut and paste and some work damned hard for things they believe in. It's like any other community in that respect.

I find that the real interactions are in the comments - some steemians always reply to my comments and i try to do the same if (i have anything worth adding) and some just wait for the up votes and never interact. I think its up to each of us to find our own little community here and help it grow. Good luck with that my friend, and i hope you will not have to wait too long for your camera equipment :)

I suppose you have a point. Physical communities have their own actors that do their thing to get by. It's just, a discouraging thing that I notice all too often.

I agree that they are noticeable here but i guess, in real life, we learn to avoid them. Here, they pop up in the feeds...

I usually come for the art and photos, as reading to much on a screen hurts my eyes I read this though.:)

Art is my main squeeze ^_^

I'm 2 legit 2 quit. But yeah I enjoy reading interesting blog posts and commenting when I have something to say. Not use to commenting on posts in general but have been trying to make it more of a habit on Steemit. It's nice receiving a comment from something that isn't a bot. (No offense to all sentient bots on Steemit)

Not commenting enough is definitely a bad habit of mine. If I really like something, I'll pop in and write something like "Awesome job" or "This is fantastic for.........reason". But it doesn't mean I don't give a shit.

Yup I hear ya. I think we'll get the hang of it at some point haha.

Are you even reading this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67336.19
ETH 3695.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71