Words Travel Miles

in #writing6 years ago

I remember writing atop my old trusty study table. Recalled that it had a pull out drawer, wooden but a little hard to open. As I pull it with force, the limited pens, writing stationary papers revealed. There were my loved collections, my dear possessions, my then treasures. Some had scents in each paper while most had character prints, 90% of them where bought and gifts from my brother who studies in the city. Whenever he gets the chance to go home, he makes sure he has few new packs for me.

Oh teenage life! I only thought of when my friend mail man visits and hands me my next letter with a stamp marked from the other side of the world.

Penpals, that's how we call ourselves. We became friends with the power of the paper and ink. With a huge help of the mail, we learned things about ourselves, our lives, our families and friends. Through thin papers because each mail has to be weighed back then, I limited myself to just three pages and often times used the back pages too.

What joy it fills my heart each time I hand out my envelope sealed with kisses and love, this will take days and weeks to reach Pennsylvania where my dear friend Alyssa lives. She had a cat, she was my Samaritan Purse box sponsor.

Now I wonder if she still remembers me, the young girl she sends letters in the Philippines.

Xoxo,
JUNEBRIDE

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/junebride-words-travel-miles-1531021544342.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Nice post, i like your post, thank you for sharing. Itu sangat membuat aku senang

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you dear

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay you are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice post, i like your post, thank you for sharing. Itu sangat membuat aku senang

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi!!@junebride How are you? Have a nice day 😊

Doing good pows
Hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

Good Article dear friend..

I'm sure she will remember. :D

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84