You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #20: Valentine Special- 199 words, a lovely prize pool, everyone wins!

in #writing6 years ago

MY VERY FIRST VALENTINE.

I became first aware of Valentine's day and its meaning in my first year in junior secondary school.
It was that same year my mother heard me talking about it and slapped me for gradually becoming a spoilt child.
My whole existence was riddled with confusion that day.
Every other valentine's day after that just passed promptly without my notice.

Seven years later in my first year in the University I had my first real Valentine experience.
The day was going to pass like the ones that had gone before because I had given it no thought not to talk about making plans.
I got hungry and decided to go buy noodles downstairs.
When I got to the gate of the lodge, my year 1 crush was coming in to see his friend.
As usual I blushed and nearly fell flat on my face but I regained my composure miraculously and continued on my way.

He was in his final year. I guess he knew I was crushing on him. And I felt I didnt stand a chance. He was just too fine and I couldn't keep up with Awka girls.
That same day, his very first words to me were
"Happy Valentine's day fine girl".
I still dont know if I replied because everything that followed after that passed in a love struck haze.
We went out to a pizza joint in his car.
Men and brethren the relationship that kicked off on valentine's day lasted 4months.
I was naive and he was an asshole.

Sort:  

Ehyaaa.. Nice story

Awwnn nice story but 4months I think u both could have done better

Ikr... We could have but i felt i was taken advantage of. Had to shift.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61