You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Stay Connected While Writing Your Trauma

in #writing6 years ago

This is huge. I have too much familiarity with anxiety and panic attacks, as well as getting wrapped up in my writing. In fact, the last time I had a major anxiety attack (an all-nighter of distress) was just after I published my novel, WILD HORSE HEART.

The way I talked myself down was exactly what you said here: I am not my work. It's just a story. No matter what has happened to me, no matter what might happen in the future, I am worthy and wonderful exactly as I am. Sometimes I don't believe that 100%, but I'm working on it. ;)

Fabulous post. Great reminder! Thank you.

Sort:  

I am really happy that you knew to separate yourself from your story. It can feel like our art is part of our body, and when the art comes from our bodily experiences, the letting go can become even trickier. Thank you for reading and commenting. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67918.33
ETH 3740.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69