You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Publishing, Part 2: The Money of It All

in #writing6 years ago

It has taken me entirely too long to get around to commenting on this post (been busy with the meetup in Tennessee), but I wanted to say I appreciate the fact that you're shedding light on the real world of publishing. It's not easy, or glamorous, or particularly profitable for many in the industry. But some of us love writing, and are still working towards the dream of traditional publishing.

That said, I sure am enjoying Steemit. Blogging here is a lot easier (and more profitable) than self-publishing and then promoting. Writing is the "easy" part—I hate repeating the "buy my books" message again and again. But if you don't, who will do it for you? Few indie authors have a PR budget. Here I can write about whatever I want, and I don't even have to plug my books. If someone is interested, they can click on the link in my footer or check out my website. If not, my posts often make more than the royalties on a book sale. And this is FUN community building. I came here to enhance my author platform, and instead I found a way to be paid immediately for writing, for being myself... and I found an international family of friends, one that is constantly growing.

Glad to meet you here. Keep writing! 💖

Sort:  

I've had a lot of fun here too, plus this is a community where I can write whatever I want. I know a lot of publishers and ePresses say you can write whatever, but there's always a preference, and they wouldn't want you swinging between CNF, fiction, and criticism and still expecting to get paid. :)
Also, yes, it's very slow going at first, and the payouts are tiny, but anyone who's been in publishing has been through this before. You just have to write, work, build your brand and your rep without having to tweet every 90 seconds.
Thanks so much for the comment, and it was great to meet you too! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83