You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For The Different Monster - Chapter Fourteen

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Words fail me ....

Oh Brooke ... : (

But I guess the reason why it hurts so much is knowing that the numbers are stark ...

1 in 5 girls and 1 in 20 boys is a victim of child sexual abuse
http://victimsofcrime.org/media/reporting-on-child-sexual-abuse/child-sexual-abuse-statistics

I hope that through this bold and raw writing that touches the depths of our human psyche - those raw bits in people who are part of these statistics are healed.

And that we as humanity grow beyond statistics and numbers in this world of ours; to live with greater awareness and tread with tremendous care.

Movies, books, stories, poetry, workshops, talks .... It all matters, it all makes an impact, it helps educate, elevate and in time erradicate

Sort:  

Your words always touch my heart babe. Those numbers are scary. That has always been my ultimate goal, if I can touch just one person's life with my story it will all be worth it. I'm not sure if my work of fiction will do it but the plans I have after this one is written just might give someone the courage to help themselves out of a bad situation.

I think Education is really important. If this kind of abuse starts at a really young age, children will grow up thinking this is normal behaviour until someone tells them it's not or they figure it out on their own.

I spoke with my son about it as a very young child and it was brought up every so often so he would know that if something like that ever happened it wasn't ok and to report to anyone he trusted even if it wasn't me.

I'm not sure if this is a topic that parents talk about with their kids but I believe it is just as important as sexual education and I believe it needs to be talked about early on because these sick people apparently don't care how young their victims are.

Oooh, I am looking forward to your next writing project love. I know how powerful it will be.

Babe, fiction or not - the fact that it is highlighted and relatable it works wonders. We all relate to our favourite movie characters at some level. We are inspired by them, we learn from them.

The words that reach the world are never in vain love.

Yes, more of safe touch education needs to happen early on. I wish it was part of the school syllabus to be honest! I just don't understand why more schools aren't on board.

We teach kids how to cross the street, and stranger danger, but not this? Just doesn't make sense.

Even as adults we can't own, respect and appreciate our body with openness - how will we teach our kids ?

This is about to turn into a post by itself.

So let me stop here, and say when our voices are called forth to be heard it's amazing what gives, shakes and moves. So MyChiChi. .. I can't wait for what's next xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88