High School - Chapter 3 - Broken

in #writing6 years ago

Previously:

As the party winds down, Ronald head back inside looking for a towel. He open the ajar door to the bathroom and spot two figures kissing against the counter...

Zoe: Ooh, Brian...
Brian: Hmmm, we should really do this more often.

Before he's caught, he take a step backward into the hallway and bump into Roy.

Roy: Ronald? Is everything okay? What's going on?
Ronald: Roy! Oh... uumm... "This is gonna be hard to explain" he said to himself...



Roy: What's going on, Ronald?
Ronald: Oh! Roy! Umm...

Ronald stand in front of the bathroom door, blocking Roy's view of Zoe and Brian making out, Ronald finally step aside and let Roy finds out for himself. Roy past him and enters the bathroom. He then stops dead in his tracks when he sees Zoe and Brian kissing furiously against the wall.

pixabay

Roy: Zoe...? Brian!!! Please tell me this is some sort of a misunderstanding.
Ronald: Doesn't look like one to me.
Brian: Crap, you weren't supposed to see this!!
Zoe: Roy, I'm sorry.
Roy: After everything... How could you... It's over Zoe.

Roy exits the room and turns to Ronald...

Roy: Why didn't you say anything, Ronald? I thought you were cool. Guess I was wrong.
Ronald: I'm sorry. I didn't think... I didn't want to hurt your feelings.
Roy: Too late...

Roy takes one long glance at the bathroom before storming outside...

Brian: Good riddance.
Ronald: Seriously?
Zoe: We were kinda in the middle of something.
Ronald: I can't believe you... Roy's your best friend, Brian!! And you betrayed him!! How could you throw away your friendship like that?
Brian: It's one girl. He'll get over it.
Ronald: So you'd forgive Roy if he stole your girl?
Brian: Time for you to go.
Zoe: Yeah, go comfort that washed up excuse for a football player... I found someone better.
Brian: Now, where were we?

Zoe slams the door at Ronald's face. Ronald turn and head back outside, he look around the backyard, but Roy's nowhere to be seen. Several of his classmates rush up to him...

Anna: Ronald, what happened? Roy just took off.
Ronald: He and I just walked in on Brian and Zoe making out.
Mary: No! Why would she cheat on Roy?
Frank: Can't say I'm surprised.
Ronald: He shouldn't be alone right now. We've gotta go after him.
Aiden: "WE"?...
Frank: You're new here, so i'll let it slide. But, none of us really hang with Roy... Except Julian.
Ronald: He's one of us! Wouldn't you want someone to go after you if the tables were turned? We can't leave Roy alone... Who's with me?
Mary: I'll help.
Julian: I can't let my football brother down... I'm in, too.
Anna: Count me in as well. What Zoe did is disgusting. Not to mention, Roy could persuade a few more people to attend homecoming.
Aiden: It's the right thing to do... So, I'll join your group.

Everyone turns to look at Frank. He raises an eyebrow and scoffs...

Frank: I can't believe you all. But this party is boring... So what the heck, I'm in. I've got nothing better to do.
Ronald: Thanks, everyone. Any idea where Roy would run off to?
Julia: Maybe at Angel's burger? That's where I'd go grab a burger and sulk.
Ronald: Only one way to find out.

At Angel's Burger... They find mostly empty booths, except for one high school couple int he corner. They hold hands while splitting a milkshake...

pixabay

Julie: Hey, guys! didn't think I'd see you here after the party.
Mike: I see, you brought the new kid.
Ronald: Oh, I'm...
Mike: Ronald Penalba. Newest student to Longbeach High and already in the thick of the drama.
Ronald: How do you know all that?
Anna: It's Mike. He makes it his business to know everything that goes around town.
Mike: Guilty! Although Julie's trying to keep me on the straight and narrow.
Julie: Trust me, much easier said than done.

Julian's eyes lingers on Mike and Julie's laced hands. She catches his stare and moves her hand beneath the table. Julian sighs heavily. With everyone else's attention on the conversation, Ronald whisper to Julian...

Ronald: You like Julie don't you?
Julian: No. Not at all!! That's ridiculous. Julie and I... We... She made her choice long time ago... And it wasn't me.
Ronald: I didn't realized that.
Julian: It's okay. You didn't know. We dated for a little, and it's been really hard ever since things ended.
Ronald: Julian... You shouldn't give up! If you want something, you gotta keep on trying. You never know what could happen!
Julian: Yeah, but I don't ant to become Brian.
Ronald: From what I can tell, that's impossible. You're nothing like him. You can still be persistent with Julie without crossing the line.
Julian: You're right! Thanks, Bro!
Julie: So what brings everyone here so ate tonight?
Ronald: We're looking for Roy.
Mary: We found Zoe cheating on him with Brian.
Mike: I'm surprised it took him this long to find out.
Aiden: You knew?
Mike: It's my job to know, not to tell.
Frank: So any chance Roy stopped by?
Julie: Sorry, It's just been us tonight.
Mike: I'd try the arcade. Roy likes to blow off steam there.
Ronald: Thanks for the tip. We'll check it out.
Julie: Good luck.

As the group leave, Julian look back for one final glance at Julie before he heads out the door.

At the arcade... They quickly find a group of their classmates surrounding a pink-haired girl focused on her Dance Dance Revolution game...

pixabay

Nishan: Go, Hinata!
Arlene: Whoa, you beat Roy's high score!!
Ronald: He was here?
Louie: Yeah, he left like 5... Maybe 10 minutes ago.
Mary: We're on the right track!
Louie: Mary! You're here! I mean, of course you're here. You're standing in front of me.
Mary: And you're, Uh... Standing in front of me?
Louie: How are you doing?
Mary: I'll be better once we find Roy.
Louie: Oh... maybe later we could play?
Anna: Not the time, Louie. We're in a bit of a time crunch. Where'd Roy run off to?
Nishan: You've have to ask Hinata. She's the one who talked too him.
Ronald: Hey, Hinata?
Arlene: If you want her attention, you've gotta enter the dance.

Ronald pull out a quarter from his pocket and join Hinata. After the round...

Ronald: We heard you know where Roy went.
Hinata: That's it? He said he was heading to the beach to cool down.
Frank: Sounds more like a vacation to me.
Anna: I doubt Roy would see it that way.
Mary: Poor Roy. I just want to give him a hug.

Ronald follows the group towards the exit but Louie pulls him back...

Louie: Ronald, I know you're new here, but... You and Mary seem pretty closed already. Um, do you know if she's single?
Ronald: The truth is... I like Mary.
Louie: Oh... I didn't know!
Ronald: It's fine. There's no way you could have. But now you do.
Louie: Yeah, I get it. Thanks for the heads up. Good luck with your search.

At the beach...

pixabay

Ronald: There he is!!
Anna: Good thing we got here so quickly.
Ronald: You can thank my dancing skills later.

Roy sits at the water's edge, waves lapping his feet. He stares blankly into the distance...

Mary: He looks sad.
Aiden: Let's go talk to him.
Anna: We shouldn't all crowd him at once.
Frank: Who wants to talk him off the edge?
Julian: I guess I can go. We're on the football team together. But I'm not great at the whole feelings talk. Someone else might be better. But, okay I'll be right back...
Ronald: We'll get a fire started while you talk.

Julian sits down next to Roy. Ronald can hear their conversation over the crashing waves. He then turn to the rest of the group.

Ronald: Come on... Let's get some firewood...

Soon, they start a raging bonfire on the beach. They sit around the blaze, feeling the warmth. A few moments later, Roy and Julian heads back to rejoin the group next to the fire...

Roy: Hey, guys! Thanks for coming
Anna: How are you holding up?
Roy: Honestly, I feel like I've been hit by a train... I can't believe you guys come all this way to find me. I thought I knew who my real friends were before tonight, but I was wrong. It's all of you.
Frank: You should thank Ronald the one who convinced us to come...
Roy: Thanks, everyone... I know I'm not close to a lot of you, but I want that to change. It means so much that you guys went out of your way to make sure I'm alright. You make it a lot easier to deal with it all.
Ronald: We couldn't just leave you to sulk by yourself.
Roy: I shouldn't have yelled at you back at the party, Ronald.
Ronald: I get it. You weren't exactly in best head-space.
Mary: I can't believe this happened to you.
Frank: You gonna teach Brian a lesson for stealing your girl?
Ronald: If he tries any funny business, he'll have to answer to us. I don't think he'll take on all of us.
Frank: I'd like to see him try.
Roy: Thanks! I'm glad you've all got my back.

pixabay

The next morning, during homeroom, Roy takes a seat next to Ronald right before the school bell rings. Just then, the door swings open, and Brian waltzes into the classroom. He sits at the desk behind Ronald nd Roy.

Brian: Hey, Roy, buddy!! How you doing?

Roy's jaw clenches. He turns his focus to his textbook...

Brian: Oh... The silent treatment... How angsty.
Ronald: Just ignore him, Roy. not worth the energy.
Roy: Agreed.
Brian: You can't ignore me, Roy. I'm your best buddy!!
Ronald: Some friend you are...
Brian: Is this about that whole Zoe thing? 'Cause lemme tell you. She's a damn good kisser. So after you two ran off we...
Roy: That's it!!!!!!

Roy shuts the text book on his desk. A hush falls over the entire classroom. He stands up , towering over Brian. He balls up his fist. Brian rises to meet him eye-to-eye...

Roy: I can't take it anymore!!!
Brian: You gonna hit me? I'd like to see you try.



Next time on High School...

Roy faces off against Brian... and someone is sent to the principal's office...


There you have it folks... Things got a little intense between Roy and Brian... How will Ronald react in this situation? Stay tuned for the next chapter... Have a great day everyone...

Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @guiltyparties, @pjau, @patrice and @curie who have been adding an invaluable contribution to the community.

And don't forget @blocktrades, @comedyopenmic, @markangeltrueman, @qurator, @ocd-witness, @derangedvisions and @themarkymark!!
Hey! also.. @bitrocker2020, @liberosist, @gtg, @phareism, @someguy123, @aggroed, @roelandp, @timclip @noblewitness, @steemitboard, @kevinwong and the entrepreneur @enginewitty from the @steemcommunity

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses




Sort:  

Congratulations @kendallron! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kendallron from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83