Inthetimeoftradition I

in #writing6 years ago

"Lekwa! Udala achago" (look the African cherry is ripe) kene said. I looked to the tree and truthfully they were ripe. " let's pluck some before the older ones come back i said to kene. "Ok i'm coming let me get a stick" said kene. Kene hadn't come back yet and i was starting to feel a rumble in my tummy. So i decided to climb the tree myself without a stick. After all, Nne said i like climbing like énwe the monkey. I had almost gotten to the closest fruit when i heard it. "Alueme nu o" (abomination) yelled nneukwu. "Ngwa ridata osiso" (get down fast) she shouted. I began my descent with a sad look on my face; a lost opportunity. Just as i reached the ground, Nnayi came in with Nne as though summoned by the screams of Nneukwu. "Ugochi why the screams?" Asked Nnayi. Nneukwu, as though waiting for permission, began her tale. "I told you this girl is an obanje but you refused to believe me. Its… " it is your child that's an obanje!" yelled Nne. "Enyidiya keep quiet!" Yelled Nnayi. "As i was saying Nnanyi. I walked into the compound and saw kasiem ontop of the udala tree! Not the orange tree o but the udala tree! A tree reserved for the gods! Now tell me why i won't call her an obanje? Only a spirit would defy human laws!". " enough Ugochi" said Nnayi. As though to confirm Nneukwu's claim of me being an obanje, i fell to the ground. Immediately, the once silent compound, became a rowdy place. Nne wouldn't stop screaming and Nneukwu wouldn't stop thanking chiokike for vindicating her.
To be continued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61367.99
ETH 2929.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67