Chillin & thinking: how are we going to do this? This is the question.

in #writing6 years ago


Greg is a somebody and Jean is a nobody, but their friendship is genuine and they don't hesitate to talk about a whole lot of different stuff and at times even uneasy conversation topics. Their most recent chat goes like this:  
G: Good material. Agree? 

J: Your manuscript means business... I must admit. What or who did you have in mind, when you wrote it? 

G: I was just chilling and thinking about pretty much everything that went on in my mind during the great hiatus period. And then I created what you read. Of course in real life everything and everybody is much more boring and ordinary. I would not write something so extensive only about real life. Would I now? Think about you for an instance, would you find your life worthy of a novel?   

J: Well...what you just said right in my face is slightly insulting you know. Too much abrupt honesty from your part without a doubt as usually. And at the end of the day why on earth you consider my life can't inspire someone to write a story about it?    

G: Relax old sport. My life story is not exactly a best seller either.  

J: ...Back to your stories. I find particularly interesting that part you quote famous songs. 

G: Ah you liked it! I knew you would. 

J: Besides writing, you were always good at capturing public attention with catchy speeches. You could be a politician for all I know. 

G: That is what mainstream style is all about. 

J: “Funny how secrets travel” says the song. 

G: “It don’t make any difference to me” says another. 

J: Take it back, when it all started. 

J: Back to when? 

G: When it started. I just told you so!   

J: And your soul is one in a million? 

G: My friend what is a million compared to a billion? There will be others. 

J: I am sure they will, but how soon will this come to be? 

G: Keep the faith and let the cables sleep. Tomorrow we will wander about the same evident facts. Now I realize it once again.  

J: All these writings surely make a contemplative diary.    

G: Like that fictional character you are so fond of. Don't you enjoy the implication? One may say it should come with a seal of warning before anybody attempts to surface its content. 

J: No! You exaggerate. But this should come as no surprise. It isn't the first time you act or speak likewise. 

G: I always tell myself I should be inspired by normal sociology, but  I can't follow my own advice. It would reserve less discrimination! But then again when one speaks of what everybody expresses opinion about, it is hard to make an impression. On the other hand, when you speak of things only few understand, then the deed is maybe too detached for the audience to embrace it.   

J: Between chapters one, two and the end, this will be the part most people will enjoy I presume, the action in the middle I mean. Basically the juicy stuff before the conclusive destination.   

G: Then I did not manage to get my message across I am afraid. 

J: Definitely not, it is just your higher purpose of writing this hand script is undermined by your captivating narrating. 

G: I will take your observation as a compliment. But I also wanted to point out some deeper reluctance.   

J: What? 

G: Something I can’t quite explain lurks lately inside me and often all I feel is not giving a damn dime about anything whatsoever. Could this be a possible inner call for setting a different course in my life? 

J: This sort of feelings catch up with most of us at one point or another. Such state of mind hardly ever leads to a glorious shift unless you think you can make something out of nothing. Adversities made you change your original point of view. Is this your point?   

G: Perhaps...perhaps (melodically whispers). 

J: Or perhaps they led you to set yourself apart from what is unnecessary and seek for the golden residual in our social vanity? You are a solid soul, there is a strong possibility you could pull this off, but know the outcome in such cases is usually disappointing. Many soulful players tried new things, explored unconventional paths and most of these efforts had bad endings, when it comes to situations you speak of. They realized it would had been more prudent, if they carried on with what they did best, although obviously it would be boring. Be careful with how you feel. Another day, another way there may indeed be, but no one can tell for sure. If you feel like a swampy swan, who is not granted entrance to the Crystal Lake, sticking with what you know is not that horrible. It happens to most of us.   

G: Except if the swan manages to transform white in time and at last get the hell away from the dirty grassy slopes. Then the risk of being radically innovative is all winnings and no losses.

J: I see. All seek a way to turn things around fast to catch up with lost time. I imagine most people on the planet, as we speak, yesterday, the day before and for many years to come, had, have and will continue to have the same desire and that is no other than to turn around their lives with a single blow of fate, yet they stand in the same crossroad again and again failing to make the recommended draw, which will lead them to a new life.   

G: Gravitational importance of your choices next to your visionary wits is what will take you to your Eden. After that you have to prove your worth only once in a while. 

J: And how you intend to convince the rest of the team to align with your cause? Are you willing to wait till they come around to your type of thinking and lifestyle? Are you this kind of type? Doesn't the waiting get on your nerves? Doesn't it make you question the reasons you got involved in any much anticipated task resulting to question why you bothered in the first place? You can end up adopting a different point a view -you know- especially if the waiting proves to be longer than expected and that my friend -trust me- will change everything you originally had in mind. 

G: I am just going to tell them exactly how I feel. I am going to let it all out! I don't care how our trivial gang will take it. Either they will be against it or enthusiastic about it, but I firmly believe that if I only manage to make my point clearly and loudly heard, it won't vanish from the back of their mind in a matter of a few days (sighs). Everything is so passing, I just cannot figure out what it takes to make a lasting difference in this short life we are given. Not even how to make our friends join us in our newly found cause.  

J: Speak from your heart and they won't forget. I don't know though, if they will like it. Your feelings may not correspond to theirs. I am a nobody after all. What do I know? The director calls for my services only when people like you call in sick. I really don't know the ingredient of the recipe of bending others to your will. But I don't think it is made solely of truth or intelligence.   

G: Perhaps...perhaps...but do not underestimate yourself Jean. Before anything we have to somehow try. And we perfect our approach in the long run...  

J: I guess...what do I know... 


Constantin G. Spiliotakopoulos

Attica 16-09-2018

Sort:  

Congratulations @kost.spil! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98