"Huh, $30 Million dollars..."

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It was a Monday after work. I remember the day because my plans had been to go out to a pub with my co-workers, to wish Saeed a good farewell as this was his last day in the office. I had wanted to go all week, but on that particular Monday, my headaches had been intense and eye-numbing. Staring at a computer screen for 8hrs hadn’t helped. So I excused myself early, wished Saeed a lovely trip back home and said we’d keep in touch.

It was raining. Not the hard wet rain that makes sense, no, this was Vancouver’s special, light drizzle, more of a nuisance than anything else. My jacket hood was pulled up and my head was down as I tried to escape the rain.

There’s a convenience store on my way to the train. It’s down some stairs but there’s always a sign out front. Today it was advertising the lottery: Win $30 Million This Friday!

“Wow!” I thought, “What I wouldn't do with 30 million dollars..."

And then I started to think about it, really think about.

My first thought was ‘I would quit my job’ but then a split-second later I followed that up with ‘No, I like my job, I wouldn’t quit.’ That’s when I realized that was actually true. I enjoy what I do, I enjoy my co-workers and getting out of the house every day, I enjoy having somewhere to go and people to see.

Maybe I would work fewer hours, shorter days, Fridays off.

Huh, hadn’t seen that one coming. I’m your classic extrovert, I love people and places and being surrounded by the noise of things happening. Having a job gets me out of the house and provides me all of this. And the one I’m currently at isn’t bad.

Ok, so we’d keep our job, what else? Pay debts off is the next logical step. I personally don’t have much debt at the moment, I didn’t have to take out student loans, I don’t own a car and I rent my apartment. Should I buy a new car and a house?

This reminded me of the time my partner (Dean) and I went around inside Ikea having a conversation about what we would do if we won the lottery. We had to go back to the start because neither of us had been paying much attention, we were too engrossed in our conversation.

I’m of the mind that money is meant to be spent, Dean, on the other hand, believes in investments and living off of the interest. He says he wouldn’t do anything in the first year, just hire an accountant and then when the money starts coming in, that’s when you spend it.

While I agree his point of view is more financially responsible, I still think mine is more fun. Two things that I would immediately do for my parents would be:

  • Buy my Dad a Rolex. This has actually been on my list for a while now, he had a beautiful Rolex watch he got from his father, my grandfather, but he was mugged in Argentina.

  • Buy my Mom a better car. Not a new car mind you, just one that has working air-conditioning, GPS, power steering and room for all her dogs.

Ok, ok, assuming we’ve covered the more immediate family, now what? How else could I help people with this new money? I’d probably donate some of it to my favourite charities, the local rabbit one we’ve adopted three of our furry friends from and other local pet ones.

Finally, I think I’d like to help some people I’m friends with. Some really decent, good-hearted people that deserve it. And I think the way I would do that is by paying off their student loans.

Nobody should start life out with a negative balance because all they wanted was a good education.

I already know just off the top of my head, at least 5 people I’d pay off their loans off. Because they’ve proven they deserve it, by working hard, getting good grades and making a difference. Also for being great friends when needed.

That’s when I realized that if I got to pay off their debts, buy my mom her car and get my dad his Rolex then honestly, I think I’d be okay even if I still had to work after a bit.

Would it help if I got to do all this from a gorgeous condo with an ocean view? I mean, that’s just a perk then…

What about you, fellow readers? What would you do if you won the lottery?
What would you really do?

Catch you around, Steemians!

~ Lili

Photo by Jonathan Brinkhorst on Unsplash

Sort:  

That is a big chunk of change.

I'm also assuming that there's no taxes, and no rules saying I don't get a huge chunk all at once but yeah. Hella change.

I wouldn't quit my job either. I'd most certainly be late, though.

Haha, I love that.

First I would move to Stockholm. Continue my filmmaking education there. I won't shoot movies with my own money tho :) That's not how it works.

Then I would probably fund some startups not just for gaining more money in return but developing new techs. Like healthtech startups.

Your partner Dean has a clever way of spending the money. Most of the people don't get the importance of compound interest! They just spend whatever money they have and don't think about investing it and making more out of it.

But if we want to make things fun then I would probably buy presents for my loved ones, a new car for me, nothing crazy fancy and a house next to the beach. Then I would just travel around the world! :D

Congratulations @liliofthevaley! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post about loving what you do... We should do things because we like doing then, not because we will get a reward for doing so.... Its kinda of like true love vs { . . . . . . }

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55