'The Pumpkin Raiders and The Scarecrows' - Work In Progress

in #writing6 years ago

Working on a short story for a contest, initiated by @blockurator.
You can check out the original prompt post here: https://steemit.com/fiction/@blockurator/farmpunk-fiction-contest-4-pumpkin-harvest-b5b86591eb203est

This is not my entry, yet. I am anxious. When I am ready, I will post it along with the proper tags, etc.

I just wanted to share something about my working process even though I don't have the time to carry it all out today. But I intend to do it in the days to follow. Because I like pumpkins and most of the hype about Halloween. This is a beautiful season with a heart-warming moods and maybe the best smells Time has to offer.

It also resonates with an ongoing project of mine... in a way. This is my latest post about it:
https://steemit.com/scarecrowproject/@manoldonchev/the-scarecrow-project-part-three

So, what's the plan?

Since I am a photographer, let's start with the image and my ideas of connecting the short story to my old project... perhaps.

I am thinking of a way to combine one of those photographs with models who took the roles of scarecrows with some pumpkin close-ups that I have.

Pumpkins_s.jpg

Tikvichko_s.jpg

I have also made a tutorial about a gif on the topic:

Untitled-4.gif

Here's my article about the How of it:
https://steemit.com/photomag/@manoldonchev/photomag-competition-tutorial-tuesday

And what do I have in terms of a story?

  • The temporary title 'The Pumpkin Raiders and The Scarecrows';

  • The first couple of sentences:

'Coming Sto-o-o-r-rm!', cried Vanya, The Little in his sweet and high-pitched child's voice. At his three feet height and only six autumns, he was officially watchman of the Pumpkin Raiders squad.;

  • The concept:

Pumpkins are the crops that adapted and survived soil, air and water pollution. Though they are quite acidic themselves and have to be refined until they are edible. Pumpkin bread and cookies, even whiskey - each will be a thing. Only large corporations will have the technology and the money to build refineries. Common people will have to sell land until they all live landless. A lot will move underground in shelters from acidic rains and hiding from corrupt authorities. Refugees will rely on pumpkin thieves to bring them food. They will have hide from satellites and bypass the automated Scarecrow guards.

Our story will take place somewhere in the Caucasus region and the people will be a mix of the cultures living around there presently.

I have to do some research on a few topics but I will keep those in secret for a while.

And I still don't know what is to unfold. But soon I will and so will you.

Sort:  

Sounds awesome. I can't wait to read it.

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (3.28%)
Summoned by @manoldonchev
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99