On Giving Up

in #writing6 years ago

I just find it interesting that our culture (that of the U.S., in my case) puts so much emphasis on ambition and never giving up, and yet sometimes--very often--clinging is actually the source of your problem.

I just gave up on something I had put a lot of passion and effort into but was just obviously not going to work, and as soon as I decided, "Alright, just let go," it felt as if every muscle in my body had received a deep-tissue massage within a timescale usually reversed for Planck lengths.

So, I guess I'm saying let's stop making a taboo out of "giving up," because damn, if the conditions are right, giving up feels completely amazing.

Sort:  

Comrade, that massage sounds incredible. I imagine you've made the right decision for you.

Yes, it did feel very, very good, hahaha.

I wonder if we could call it moving forward rather than "giving up"? After all what kind of progress can we expect from feeling confined to fulfill some no longer relevant goal? Congrats on trusting your inner self! Great post, thank you much for sharing;0)

Congratulations @manyvoices! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @manyvoices! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68