You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memories are the photographs our hearts take.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I am with you on this, it is absolutely ok with loving pets, mourning and remembering them @thistle-rock. I have had a dog, a bird, fish pets who left as I was growing up and until today, I still remember them. Thank you for this heartfelt writing. I love the painting too. It is a beautiful piece of remembrance. If you don't mind me asking, is Cadeau your pet dog? And what was the medium that you painted the piece on? It has a beautiful unique shine to it. I love the flowers and the dragonfly and the colours.

Sort:  

Thank you @marblely, that is a lovely response.

I too have had a menagerie of pets, fish, rabbits, birds, cats, dogs, horses, hamsters... you know, the basics, and they all played a big role in my life, always remembered.

Cadeau was my dog who passed away one month before her 16th birthday, an unusual age for the size she was. So named for several reasons; one being my mothers is french and she asked for something she could pronounce as sometimes her tongue cannot get around some words, lol. So, I chose Cadeau, which is the french word for gift. As she was to be put down within a week, I decided that we had given her the gift of life, and in return, she gave us the gift of her unconditional love... I may just have to write that story someday.

The painting is actually on a cement stepping stone using several layers of acrylic paints. I have yet to seal it, but I will do so with outdoor quality varethane. This was the first I ever made, then I subsequently donated a semi-custom piece for our local SPCA, the bidder who won asked that his MIL's name be put on it which I thought was fantastic. I will at some point start another and make a tutorial along the way.

Thanks so much for your comment and for stopping by.

Thank you @thistle-rock for sharing your story :)
Cadeau is a lovely name, if you don't mind me saying. What a gift she must have been to your family. My dog's name was Lucky, a cute German Spitz who once ate a big green caterpillar and hid under bushes when there is thunder and lightning :)
Ah.. a cement stepping stone is very unique. I love the kind of painting that you do, the kind of stone and objects painting with cheery flowers, patterns and colours :) It makes me happy looking at them.
And reading your posts and comments, I have to say that you are a talent with a big and kind heart @thistle-rock. I am really happy to have come across your posts :)

@marblely, one of the loveliest comments I have received, thank you so much, it made my day.

Too funny, your Lucky once ate a caterpillar, they do tend to do the funniest things! I have one dog who I rescued later in his life, and he is afraid of the thunder and lightening too, drools something fierce and shakes like a leaf, poor thing, but we love him just the same. He's almost deaf now, but dogs can feel the drop in pressure signalling a storm, so his not being able to hear the noise isn't going to help him I am afraid.

So glad to have you here, thanks for your lovely comments and for visiting. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62449.43
ETH 3190.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81