You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on a writer's vocabulary contest - 5 SBI shares to one winner

in #writing5 years ago

I love the contest in principal - but I am also torn. There is also a view in the fiction world to write as simple as possible and still say what you want. That using elaborate vocabulary can be a crutch... You know what I mean. But have to think of a word LOL

Sort:  

I hear you. Using vocabulary just because you can isn't what I mean. That's just showing off and feels pretentious.

But sometimes writing simple feels like doing literary gymnastics, using lots of smaller words to convey the concept a single word would provide. So in these situations, using a harder vocab word allows the writing to be more clear using less words. I feel like I'm doing the gymanstics now!

Anyway, I agree with you, but I also think having a deep vocabulary can improve writing - and reading. We can't let the fast, fast, make everything simpler world dumb us down. Rebel!

Given that the largest readership group (last I checked, which was a while ago) in the world are teenage girls, I'd say you want to keep it within Twilight level...

NO WAY! Teenage girls grow up ( I know, I was one) and just because they've been fed the Twilight crap doesn't mean we have to keep feeding them that. Though I agree age-appropriate vocab is acceptable, but the writing doesn't have to be...that!

Agreed!! I just have been around too many Non-profit types who are making it a hobby to say something that could be said in 3 words in 20 words which contain at least 15 most people have to look up.
It is the art to make something seem successful and big that in reality, is closer to no result. But the funding depends on it LOL

I like "jittery" - to me, it is a word I can feel and see when I read it LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86