Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand--Chapter 8--Dinner

in #writing6 years ago

 This is my next book. Charlotte Morgan and the Lemonade Stand.  

It is still in the work-in-progress phase. The cover I am posting here is a temp cover derived from the first book.  But I like sharing my work here first.  The book is leveled for third grade readers and up.

I am using the #steemiteducation tag because the book is about using math and earning money.   To read what has happened earlier click the link for each individual chapter for chapter 1. Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4, Chapter 5, Chapter 6, Chapter 7

Summary: Charlotte and her parents discuss a date for the lemonade stand.

  Chapter 8 Dinner

 “So, Charlotte, what are your plans for doing the lemonade stand?” Mom asked as she put spaghetti onto my plate. “Can we do it tomorrow since you have all the stuff you need?”  

“I want to do it next weekend, not tomorrow. The club wants to make posters and signs to put up,” I said. 

“That’s not a bad idea, wanting to advertise it,” Dad replied, his mouth full of bread. 

“Where are you thinking about putting posters up?” Mom asked. 

“I guess around the neighborhood, like the stop sign on the corner, and the telephone pole where everyone else puts signs up.”

 “You could put one up here in the front yard. Let everyone know that it will be here,” said Dad. 

“I would be willing to pass some fliers out at work,” Mom replied. 

“And I would do the same at school,” said Dad. 

 Mom put down her fork and faced me, “And the other thing is Charlotte you need to be walking Charlie every day. Your father and I can help of course, but Charlie needs to be walked. I think that’s why he has been chewing items around the house. He needs to get his energy out. So, I think another expectation is you walk Charlie around the neighborhood every day after school, and not just play with him in the yard. Taking care of a puppy requires making sure his needs are met, and Charlie needs to get his energy out and be trained.” 

I nodded my head, “Of course, I can do that.” And I suddenly realized I could still see my friends during the school week, because I would be out walking the dog. They may not be able to come over here, but there was no rule about not seeing them randomly in the street. 

 “So, let’s come up with a time for this lemonade stand opening,” said Dad. 

“How about opening at 10 am, that was when Gavin did his.”

 “Sounds fine to me, no one is going to want to have lemonade too early in the morning. It’s not a yard sale. People like yard sales early in the morning, not lemonade,” said Mom.

 “Now, if you wanted to start a coffee stand, then you would need to start around 6:30 a.m.,” smiled Dad. 

“Thanks, Dad. Remind me not to start a coffee stand then!” I now had one week to get ready for the lemonade stand.  

Sort:  

Whoo hoo!! Thanks!

i feel interested to read your story.......also amazing turn of this story..

as usual, its interesting read about your writing.

a very nice and extraordinary welcome. best regards to @mctiller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94