You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gear Acquisition Syndrome Part 1: The Teisco Del Rey Violin Bass

in #writing6 years ago

Oh my ,that is a sweet intrument and no mistake. I really like the idea of the mute. I didn't know that basses coudl have them. I am thinking how handy it would have been when I tried to learn slap bass for a while back in the day. I used a trick from my guitaring at the time which was to put a hair band at the very top of the neck and postion it just so that it would mute it slightly but not too much. It was a bit fiddly though!

Sort:  

This one isn't much of a slap machine. I've seen the hair band trick for tapping. I'm sure it would work well for slap, too. The mute at the bridge gives it that kind of thumpy Carol Kaye sound. Almost like a palm mute technique. I'm anxious to employ this one a bit more. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85