PERSONAL EXPERIENCE: My first 22 days of Steemit blogging... and the history before

in #writing7 years ago

​Blogging is not a new thing for me. I've had my own website many many years ago; when Geocities was still not bought over by Yahoo. I have since forgotten the address and it's now lost. I remembered the main page was a house of some sorts, with different rooms you click into for different things that I talk about; music in the living room, food in the kitchen, crafts, and hobbies in the bedroom haha~ something like that. I was still in university, the "drag and drop" was just introduced, it was HUGE! You didn't have to learn 'HTML' to make your own web page, I remembered giving a short briefing to my thesis supervisor during my final year about how to use the "drag and drop" and a little bit about the HTML codes. She needed to teach her 1st-year freshies how to make their own web page, I guess she felt she owed it to me that I got an A for my final year thesis haha (I wasn't exactly a Grade-A student).

Fast forward a few years, working was more fun than studying. People were surprised when they heard that, I just got sick of exams and studying haha, anyways I got so out of touch with the Internet, I only chatted on MSN and read movie scripts. Google wasn't so big a thing back then and YouTube hasn't even been born yet. MP3 was huge and there was this website that was doing really great with music, damn I can't remember the name, please help me refresh my mind! Then there were Java Script and PHP... OMG, I was lost. I had a Wordpress blog, but it was so long lost in the World Wide Web that I didn't have any recollection what it was about. I remembered I struggled with the PHP codes and getting the DAMN INDENTS and format right I gave up.

Finally, I got so dependent on Google and YouTube I didn't need anything else. I was doing some writing in between but I didn't show anyone, then one fine day a friend suggested I put it up, so she could read it. So I had a blog on blogger.com, can you imagine, it was called BLOGSPOT when I first signed up for that hahaha, and after leaving it redundant for a LONG time, it changed to blogger.com and I didn't even realize it. Anyway, I was lucky I didn't lose my password this time because I loved the name of my blog. MELancholically speaking... :) There was nothing much on it until I started putting my scripts and stories and what-not up there, I never really had any following, the blog was pretty much dead. It contained all the stuff I don't actually tell my family, so I don't share them on my Facebook haha~ (I hope my family don't read this)

Anyways I was introduced to this one by a good friend. There were so many things that ran through my head on what I wanted to blog about. I'm currently helping my boss write his memoirs, there were so many stories in his 72 years of life. While writing, I was thinking about my own journey too. I had always wanted to leave the country, but I had no interest in the neighbor country down south, so I was kinda stuck; until I had this opportunity to work with this boss, I am finally spreading the wings I've groomed all these years haha~ I WAS thinking about writing a memoir of my own, but then, there were so much in my head, so many ideas... So I've decided to log everything here first. Just so I don't miss out anything next time (: when I'm finally ready to write.

Steemit is really an interesting platform, all kinds of people, all kinds of contents. I was overwhelmed by this BITCOIN thing, I'm not very good with numbers, so I know to stay away from that, but SO MANY PEOPLE ARE BLOGGING ABOUT IT. Today marked my 22nd day. I never really knew how well I'd do with this blogging, I'm kinda running out of ideas on what to say haha~ I started out with a curiosity, I had friends who were skeptical about this 'money-making' blogging idea. So today, I checked out some money from my Steemit to Luno then transfered to my Maybank account. I could do this. It was an interesting experience. I had friends who say they didn't know what to blog about... look around you, everything has a story of its own.

I don't really think people cared to read EVERYTHING I wrote, I mean, it's hard to find someone whose mind works the same way as yours, that they could keep reading what you have to say/write. Every morning when I get on the laptop, I have a habit of checking on my blogs, how were they doing. Then, I read other people's blogs and see where my mind brings me, if I don't find anything, I don't blog. If something interesting crosses my mind, I'd write about it. I always worry that if I had no pictures or no videos, nobody is going to read my stuff. But then again, there were exceptions. And today is also an exception. I wouldn't care how much this post would make, I only care that I had this out of my mind, so I can let new things in~~

So yea, call it my junkbox... but don't we all have a junkbox at home where we put all kinds of memorabilias and nonsense that we keep from long ago? Some of those things may have no value at all, in price, but the values are all in the memories. I want to remember how Steemit helped me make my first 100bucks in less than a month.

Sort:  

Helping the community growing ... I see a lot of people have their 'first time's experiences. They made their first money online , they cashed out their SBD first time and can actually use it. It's great ! The blockchain tech has enabled so many great potentials . Cheers and keep steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56