Blood on the Moon - serialised EXCLUSIVE for Steemit! - 20

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Blood On The Moon Cover

Amazon link

My third novel was finished and published in time for Halloween and I had a launch at Waterstone's at Sheffield.

The full book cover, done by the wonderful, talented, brilliant Paul Mudie

Other Images from Pixabay or Google (Free Usage)


Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19


Ch1 Jessica (Rabbit) has entered the Lion’s Den – Wolf’s Den – of her own accord and is neck-deep in her greatest desire (Be careful what you wish for).

Ch2 Red is speaking to a Wolf she knew from long ago and has been astonished once by his revelation.

Ch3 Jessica is in over her head, no other human in sight and is bouncing from one encounter to the next - including in the dream-state.


Lord Grey thought for a moment with his forefingers together under his bottom lip and then he lifted his head and spoke again.

“Yes, I would agree with that conclusion. It is not the right time to bring Jessica over to us as a Wolf. It is far too early.”

He waited for the astonishment to subside and then continued. “Although it is not the right time yet, soon it will be and because of that, Jessica’s tutoring will continue and her protection will remain in place. She is not legitimate prey and any that break that command will deal with me personally.”

A dark shadow passed across his face and though Jessica thought that she may have been the only one to see it, she still realised that the other guests understood his subliminal threat.

Lord Grey stood and went to the door. He turned and nodded to Falco and he also stood and then went with him. Entwistle stood too but was not beckoned and so could not join them. Again Jessica saw the dejection in Entwistle’s face and she began to wonder why he was such an obvious lap-dog.

Selene decided that it was probably in Jessica’s best interests if she had an early night. The decision possibly had something to do with the fact that Selene wanted to find out exactly what the row had been about and what Falco and Lord Grey were talking about.

Selene made sure that Jessica was resting before she left her to find Falco. He had left the building and she had to search for him in town. She found him at the most fashionable club, doing what he liked to do best when he was thinking, watching the beautiful ‘hardbodies’ at The Late Lounge whilst sipping Cristal.

Selene sat next to him at the bar and nudged his elbow. She knew that he had already seen her but she wanted him to buy her a drink and he did.

“So, what the hell is happening? I was asked to tutor Rabbit and then all hell breaks loose and she is the reason for in-fighting, but why? Why is this one so important? Why is Lord Grey so very interested?”

Selene’s words were harsh and perhaps angry but her tone and expression were calm and seductive.

“You really don’t know, do you?”

“Would I be asking if I did?”

Lord Grey thinks that she may be a Throwback and…”

Selene’s composure evaporated and she interrupted Falco.

“I’m expected to tutor a Throwback? Are you fucking kidding?” and her calmness slid away from her.

“No, Selene, I’m not kidding, I wish that I were. Lord Grey did not realise that she was a Throwback until after he agreed that you should take over from Paul in her tutoring. Entwistle wanted to take her but he has neither the experience nor the credibility and so his request was rejected out of hand.”

“I should think so too, the jumped-up half-breed is full of his own importance and I don’t know why Lord Grey indulges him. He has no value as a Wolf that I can see, he was bitten less than a century ago and his strengths seem diminished of late, not that he had many to begin with, but those that he did have he could not afford to lose.”

“I know. I despise him too and there are some that have taken to referring to him as Renfield after Count Dracula’s faithful but insane servant.”

“The one that ate flies?” Selene grimaced and Falco nodded. They both grinned and their tension was replaced by humour for the moment.

“Yes, that certainly fits him. I shall remember that.”

“But don’t forget, he seems to be protected or at least favoured by Lord Grey for the moment and if he realises what he has been christened as, he may decide that he can call upon Lord Grey…”

Falco’s expression was grim as he imagined the outcome of Lord Grey’s fury.

“And Lord Grey will do what? Ground us? Take away our toys? I can’t imagine that Entwistle has that much of a hold over Lord Grey. I think that he is probably some experiment or another, nothing more and he will soon lose interest.”

“Let’s hope so. Anyway, I am bored of the Humes; I want to find out what Lord Grey’s plans are. Are you with me?”

Selene didn’t answer, she didn’t have to, Falco saw how interested she was by the glint in her eye and the smile on her lips.

Sort:  

Ah so Entwhistle, weasel man was a turned human. A toy, or experiment, or useful tool for Lord grey, I guess we will see. Wonderful storytelling.

Oh that Lord Grey, he's a one... ;)

He's my favourite bad guy character. He appeared in the first book and I keep toying with the idea of giving him a full book, all to his self... that would pleased his dark little heart no end.

@michelle.gent Well done for sticking at it! Followed.

good luck to you

When you start writing a book do you already know how it ends in your mind or do you decide down the road?

I go where the story takes me, but I am aware that mine is not the only way of writing.

Hi i am a new member in steemit,so Let me go to the right place by voting.please

Hi I am @sherin help me success each other help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98