How I edit my own work - Plus a story to read too - 14

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13,

If you'd like to read the story in the edited format rather than comparing the 'before and after' versions, feel free to just read the left hand side version.

Images from Google (free to use) and Pixabay

I wrote this story hot on the heels of Deadlier Than The Male because I was never confident that my first book's success wasn't some sort of fluke.

Re-reading this, I'm still not convinced I didn't just get lucky with my Werewolf story.

Daughters of Le Fey has been put away and not touched, certainly not added to, for six or seven years. My mother-in-law read it (or as much of it as I've written) and she has always encouraged me to continue with it.

I've had the plot rattling around in my head for the past seven years and I know where it's going but I can't get it out of my head yet.

I'm sincerely hoping that, like Ash's story, because I'm working on it every day, it will start to get a life of its own again and I'll be able to progress.

I'm not there yet, I still have some editing to go, and I'm using this editing process to refresh my memory on where the story came from and hopefully that will help in forming where it's going to go.

I think, because it's set at a more gentle pace, I'm having trouble with describing the people and their actions. I'm used to action-driven storylines. I may yet have to rip it apart and start again...

It's coming! I've added to this part and you'll see it's longer than the previous version. The Muse is starting to take notice and she's coming back to me.



Original text

She thought of the trees that had been most numerous where she had spent the happiest of her times when she was alive – not when she was an apprentice to Dominic, but when she was a child and her mother was still with her.

The trees she produced with her efforts were not quite the same as the ones she remembered from any woodland or forest that she had encountered since; they were taller and more overwhelming and yet to her, were more comforting in the familiarity of them.

The flowers that she induced to grow in the place where she considered home in this spiritual half-world were also bigger and more vibrant in their colours.

They were sweeter scented and more delicate. The reds were deeper and more alive and the blues were closer to the sky’s colour. The grass was always green, never brown and dried like hay and it was the softest grass that she had ever walked upon.

Rocks seemed to have a different basic make up, however. Her sense never faltered when it came to recognising those. She realised that rocks had never been living and so they were just there rather than the trees that had lived and therefore had only a rudimentary existence in the spirit world.

Contacting other trustworthy spirits was proving more difficult than Katherine could have imagined though. The spirits seemed very few and far between and even those who she did see were reluctant to allow her close.

Sometimes she would encounter a spirit that did not seem as reluctant, but in those cases, more often than not, Katherine was the reluctant one, avoiding the spirit as though it were a danger to her. Her senses guided her more than she realised, for those spirits that she was cautious of, could well have been malignant forces, set on harming other spirits to enhance their own power.

Yet she was aware of her mother’s warnings and advice. She did need to develop her own sense of self-worth and it may be easy to imagine such an achievement – in reality it is far more difficult.

One morning, Katherine was wandering deep in thought along the bank of a wide and deep ravine. She felt compelled to look across the wide gorge and saw a figure, also wandering, lost and aimless.

On a whim, she took flight and ascended in a steep climb to descend and drop silent and unnoticed behind the figure she had spied. Recognition swamped her and she gasped aloud, giving the other spirit notice that she was there.

Dominic looked shocked but recovered his composure swiftly. He was wary, but Katherine was serene and calm. She greeted Dominic with a warmth and familiarity which surprised him, but he returned the greeting to her in a similar fashion.

Pretending that she only remembered that he was preparing to take her hand, and not that he had taken her life, Katherine engaged Dominic in conversation that was neither intrusive nor informative. She feigned confusion when she mentioned her death:

“Dominic, I do not recall what happened. You were about to take away the cause of the loss of my visions, but please tell me, how did I die?”

“My darling wife,” he began with a term of endearment that Katherine had never heard from him when she was alive and it surprised her. “You lapsed into unconsciousness after I removed your hand. I could not staunch the blood flow. I tried to cauterise the wound as you lay on the forest floor, but I had only candles and they did not perform the task. You died in my arms as I wept. I could only repeat ‘Katherine I am sorry, I am so sorry.’ over and over again, my love.”

Katherine managed to appear wistful as he told her his version of the event. She seemed to Dominic to regret the decision and therefore cause of her own death. “Ah, but I agreed to it, Dominic, the fault then is mine.”

He nodded and as he allowed her to blame herself, Katherine was once more reminded that she hated this spirit. He was a great actor and she knew now how he had fooled her for six years.

After a short while of walking in silence together, Katherine asked: “Husband, how did you bury my body? Did you follow the proper ceremonies? I was buried whole as I asked?”



Please ignore the formatting...
I'm still learning and this is doing my box right in this morning!

I've learned the strike-through though!

Thanks @meesterboom

Edited text

She thought of the trees where she had spent the happiest times – not when she was an apprentice to Dominic, but when she was a child and her mother was with her.

She produced new trees with her new skills, closing her eyes and conjuring them from her heart. Katherine at last opened her eyes. The trees were not quite the same as the ones she remembered from any woodland or forest that she had encountered in her life; they were taller and more overwhelming and yet, comforting in the familiarity of them.

The paradox puzzled her; she had never seen the like, yet they were familiar. Then she realised, the woodland was an extension of her very self, her own heart.

The flowers she induced to grow in the place where she considered home in this spiritual half-world were bigger, more vibrant in their colours. They were sweeter scented and yet also more delicate. The reds were deeper and more alive and the blues were closer to the sky’s colour. The grass was always green, never brown and dried like hay and it was the softest grass that she had ever walked upon.

Once she understood that her skill came from her heart, she could create anything she desired.

Katherine didn’t dare start forming creatures just yet, she knew she had to go and to create beings and then not be there to keep a watchful eye on them somehow seemed wrong.

Rocks seemed to have a different basic make up, however. Her sense never faltered when it came to recognising those. She realised that rocks had never been living and so they were just there rather than the trees that had lived and therefore had only a rudimentary existence in the spirit world.

Rocks may not have been in her scope of power to create – neither did she want to create rocks, but she found she could move them. At first, all the rocks she found were placed around her realm, designed to keep out anything that ventured close. She remained in self-imposed isolation for a while and she grew maudlin. There was nothing to come and invade her space, yet she built a barrier to keep it out.

When she realised that she needed to protect herself in other ways, she pulled down the wall and created living things to populate her sanctuary.

Contacting trustworthy spirits proved more difficult than Katherine could have imagined.

The spirits occurred infrequently and far between, and even those who she did see were reluctant to allow her close.

Sometimes she would encounter a spirit that did not seem as reluctant, but in those cases, more often than not, Katherine was the reluctant one, avoiding the spirit as though it were a danger to her.

Katherine’s instincts grew and developed with every encounter, she learned signs that she would have missed before. She started to watch for sharp movements, the curl of disdain on a lip and an unkind eye.

Her senses guided her more than she realised, for the spirits she was cautious of could well have been malignant forces, set on harming other spirits to enhance their own power.

She drew back from one imploring spirit, protecting herself even as it held its hand up to her to beseech something from her. Another spirit came into view and the expression of sheer famine about it warned her to leave the beseeching spirit and hide herself.

Drawing herself into a protective veil, she watched. The predatory spirit drew close to the one she had almost helped and even while the spirit looked around, trying to see where Katherine had gone, the predator absorbed it into itself. The spirit dissolved into the host with a whimper that tore at Katherine’s heart more than if it had screamed.

The predator looked up as Katherine gasped but it could not see her, she had drawn her protection around her well.

The predator’s expression of deep satisfaction was replaced by a tormented look. As though the predator spirit needed the sustenance but there was a hefty price to pay for hunting spirits of its own kind.

Katherine understood then, cannibalism had its own punishment in the spirit world. The spirit predator departed in anguish; its hunger sated, it had nothing to distract it from the purgatory it had created.

She was aware of her mother’s warnings and advice. She did need to develop her own sense of self-worth and it may be easy to imagine such an achievement – in reality it is far more difficult. The lesson of the spirit’s absorption stayed with her, haunting her, always on the peripheries of her thoughts.

One morning, Katherine wandered deep in thought along the bank of a wide ravine. She felt compelled to look across the wide gorge and the movements of a figure, also wandering, lost and aimless caught her eye.

On a whim, or perhaps by the same compulsion, she took flight and ascended in a steep climb to descend and drop silent and unnoticed behind the figure she had spied. Recognition swamped her and she gasped aloud, giving the other spirit notice she was there.

Dominic stepped back as though perhaps he thought she would strike him. His expression one of shock; eyes and mouth wide. He recovered his composure swiftly, though wary. Katherine remained serene and calm. She greeted Dominic with a warmth and familiarity that surprised him. He returned the greeting in a similar fashion.

Pretending she only remembered that he was preparing to take her hand, and not that he had taken her life, Katherine engaged Dominic in conversation. She was neither intrusive nor informative. She feigned confusion when she mentioned her death.

“Dominic, I do not recall what happened. You were about to take away the cause of the loss of my visions, but please tell me, how did I die?”

“My darling wife,” the term of endearment surprised her. Katherine had never heard a word fondness from him when she was alive and it surprised her.

“You fainted, lapsed into unconsciousness as I took your hand. I could not staunch the blood flow. I tried to cauterise the wound as you lay on the forest floor, but I had only candles and they did not perform the task. You died in my arms as I wept. I could only watch you pass; crying, ‘Katherine I am sorry, I am so sorry.’ over and over again.”

Katherine managed to affect a wistful air as he told her his version of her death. She decided to give Dominic cause to believe she regretted the decision and therefore, the cause of her own death. “Ah, but I agreed to it, Dominic. The fault then, is mine.”

He nodded and allowed her to blame herself. Katherine was once more reminded that she must kill this spirit. He was a great actor and she at last knew how he had fooled her for the years she was with him.

After a short while of walking in silence together, Katherine asked a question. She knew the way he answered would either help or hinder her task, yet she had to ask it. “Husband, how did you bury my body? Did you follow the proper ceremonies? I was buried whole as I asked?”

Sort:  

THIS SIS LOVE and it time conxuming

I can't wait to hear what lie Dominic will tell poor Katherine...

It's really amazing post i ever seen. Great post i really like this.

Hello @michelle.gent, and you too @cecicastor, I agree with cecicastor, can not wait to hear the lie he tells. I like the expanded meadow building, and her decision to not start on live animals or critters yet. I like how Katherine is learning to, I don't know the right word, be, I guess. she is growing more into her spirit form and leaning more as she grows. Now that she found him in the spirit world, she should be able to find him in the real world for Elizabeth to take care of.

upvoted resteemed


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31