Curtain-up! Miss Kathy Steps Onto the Steemit Stage

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It is a truth, universally acknowledged, that an author in possession of a Steemit account must be in want of a reading audience.

So, on the recommendation of Steemit’s own @kingdomscribe, I have ventured into yet another platform where my passion for reading, writing, and all things good and beauty in the Kingdom of God might find hearts and minds eager to share in the fruit of my ink.

@kingdomscribe ignited the Steemit fire in our writer’s critique group. Editor and author, @JaniceHallHeck, of Triumph Over Terror fame with 9/11 Police Chaplain Bob Ossler, is our group’s Chicago Manual of Style expert. She’s jumped on the Steemit train, too. I’m looking forward to your introductory post, Jan!

To that end, this is my introductory post, letting you in on a few little tidbits of what makes this reader, writer, and Jesus lover tick.

As you might have guessed from my opening line, I am a proud Jane Austen fan, stacking my shelves with all manner of Austen works. She shares space with Dickens, of course, but also George MacDonald, George Eliot, P.G. Wodehouse, Dorothy Sayers, C. S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, primary source history, and the Bible. There are more I could add to that list—but my word count here is limited. Suffice to say, I prefer the classics, cozies, and Christian reading. My library is full of vintage and antique volumes, in addition to excellent contemporary works by many authors I’ve had the pleasure to meet in person through writer conferences and retreats.

And to what end have I amassed such a collection? The better to read, write, and think in such a way that my own literary efforts might bring glory to God, advance the gospel, and inspire others to do the same so they might engage the world from a biblical perspective through the power of story. His Story.

For over thirty years, I’ve enjoyed both hobby and vocation as a writer, speaker, and dramatist, including many years teaching both adults and children using the precepts of Principle Approach, an education methodology forged through the work of the Foundation for American Christian Education. I have served in the public, private, Christian, and home school environment, tailoring classical and original literary and dramatic programs to each unique audience.

Affectionately known as, “Miss Kathy,” families in the Southern New Jersey region have looked to me for reading recommendations and creative ways to promote literacy in their school age children. My various speaking and story programs promote a love of books, reading, and learning, assisted by my collection of eclectic costuming with a vintage flare, a trunk full of props—and plenty of hats—for interactive storytelling audience participation. Each program reflects the joy of life, beauty, and celebrates the highest in character virtues. For the most updated details on current speaking programs, visit Pageant Wagon Publishing (https://pageantwagonpublishing.com/speaking/).

My husband, Ed, complements me as a retired career bookseller and master storyteller in his own right. We often perform together and share a love of literacy and enthusiasm for assisting others to find their reading niche—promoting family literacy and discipleship through performance storytelling and curriculum in the Old West themed Clementine Jones Drama and Derring-Do Books!

Ed and I always dreamed of opening our own bookstore, but the industry has changed so much so, that a brick and mortar storefront is no longer an option. However, the ONLINE alternative opened opportunities to where PAGEANT WAGON BOOKS is now a reality!

We fill our “virtual bookshelves” at our AMAZON storefront site with gently used titles for the whole family. As discerning readers, our titles reflect traditional values, biblical principles, and quality classics to enrich the reader of all ages with truth, goodness, and beauty.

My own works are currently available through our independent publishing company, Pageant Wagon Publishing (https://pageantwagonpublishing.com):

I write resources for Christian living, devotional/inspirational reading, curriculum enrichment literacy materials for homeschool, drama for church, school, the community, and more on our Pageant Wagon Publishing website! Plus, as a Book Shepherd, editor, and independent publisher, I assist Christians in developing their book from idea through to publication with publishing services (https://pageantwagonpublishing.com/publishing-services/). That includes the production of audio books. You can hear some of my dramatized stories on The Writer’s Reverie Podcast (https://www.thewritersreverie.com/podcast-2).

Experience is the Best Teacher

From 2004-2011, my alter ego, Miss Kathy, hosted Tale Spin Stories, a popular preschool storytelling program at Center Court in the Cumberland Mall.

Over the years, I watched the little ones grow into enthusiastic elementary school students, then high school, and some now in college. I watched them grow from infants in strollers, to curious toddlers, to engaged preschoolers making their first inroads towards lifetime literacy. A rewarding joy! Tale Spin Stories was the testing ground for many of the performance programs I later expanded for other venues including women’s groups, retreats, and writing seminars. Even after retiring Tale Spin Stories some years ago, it is humbling to still be recognized as The Story Lady. I’m so thankful for the opportunity to have been a small part of so many young people’s literacy adventures.

Drama for Days

I admit—there’s always been a lot of drama in my life!

My theatre experience originated in childhood at age 12, with a bit part as a hula dancer in a children’s play at the local community theatre. I apprenticed there for ten years. This led to starring roles as Rumpelstiltskin and Puss-in Boots. Eventually I moved beyond character acting in beards and cat ears to leading lady roles in pretty princess costumes, musical comedies, and high drama such as the part of Anne in The Diary of Anne Frank. From there I discovered a knack for writing and directing, devoting my talents to the role of puppet master, rather than the puppet.

With over thirty years of theatrical play-writing and stage direction experience, I’ve employed my love of performance storytelling in countless venues, including many years instructing fall and spring semesters of drama classes for home school students with The Pageant Wagon Parable Players Home School Theatre. Pictured below in a cast photo from the 2011 spring production of Vineland Makes Headlines.

The show was an original adaptation of the local history program I share in schools each year detailing the history of our hometown of Vineland, New Jersey, in celebration of its 150th anniversary. We took this one on the road to perform in other community venues in the spring of 2011.

In addition, from 2005 through 2009 I founded the annual Pageant Wagon Production’s Old-Fashioned American Melodrama Summer Family Theatre.

The cast photo above is from our final production, Showstoppers at Starr’s Theatrical Emporium. My daughter, Bethany, (pictured center in the white dress and brilliant smile) inspired me to start the troupe when she was in high school. She just happened to have a number of very talented friends, and the Pageant Wagon Players were born to enthusiastic applause! Our mission: To bring the historic genre of melodrama theatre to life for contemporary audiences as a family friendly theatrical alternative. We had a very successful five-year run making many wonderful memories along the way with many fans and great fun!

Devotional drama and cantatas also kept me busy through the years, most notably as drama ministry director of the Calvary Chapel Drama on the Vine Players. I’m currently working on the publication of scripts I’ve written and produced over the years for broader audiences, published through Pageant Wagon Publishing. Soon, other churches, schools, and community groups will be able to produce a Pageant Wagon Production of their own!

Community Education

Also active in the community at large, I indulge my love of history by serving in my hometown on the Board of Directors for the local historic preservation group, the Friends of Historic Vineland.

I perform historical character re-enactments for community education and enrichment in the schools and at public events. Each May, I coordinate over forty historical exhibits for Vineland’s Founder’s Day, celebrating the fascinating history of our town and the Civil War era in which it was founded.

These Days

Currently, I work as a private language arts tutor for homeschool students and as a writing consultant, editor, and book designer for Christian authors. I enjoy speaking engagements at women’s events and writer’s conferences. Plus, there is always a new book project I’m working on. My latest endeavor is titled The Cameo Christian: Becoming a Work of Art Raised Up and Set Apart to Shine—due out sometime in 2019 through my independent publishing company, Pageant Wagon Publishing.

Fun Facts

Blessed with “cat lady” predispositions, I have never gone more than three months without being owned by a feline or two. I’m currently the adopted mom to David Copperfield and Emma—literary cats sharing my joy in overstuffed chairs and open books on laps.

With more than one closet containing a host of historical attire, I need a place to wear all my petticoats, pantaloons, and parasols. Thankfully, I’m delighted to be a part of the Somewhere in Time Tea Society, consisting of a dozen or so kindred spirits who dress up in hoop skirts, vintage hats, and button-top shoes, and go out to take tea in a variety of settings. Look for posts on some of our adventures right here on Steemit!

As a lover of all things tea and teatime, I enjoy hosting intimate hospitality teas for friends as a ministry. I plan elegant menus, served on a table featuring a good quantity of lace, flowers, and select settings from my collection of over 200 teacups and saucers.

Steemit Goals

I blog at The Writer’s Reverie (https://thewritersreverie.com) and Pageant Wagon Publishing (https://pageantwagonpublishing.com/), and am a monthly guest contributor online at Almost An Author (http://www.almostanauthor.com/category/support/literary-women-in-histor/), featuring a series about Literary Women in History, A Thyme for Writers (http://www.karenvandenheuvel.com/?p=1401), featuring sage advice for the writing life with The Write Spice, and Vintage Book Treasure Hunt in RUBY Magazine (http://rubyforwomen.com), available in digital form online or glossy print.

Adding Steemit to my online profile allows for another writing and networking outlet. The SteemPress plugin on my blogs mean that everything I publish there will publish automatically here at Steemit. In addition, I’ll be announcing a Steemit Exclusive series to inspire writers, readers, and thinkers with informative and entertaining posts—available only here at Steemit!

I look forward to connecting with homeschool families and Christian women seeking encouragement a they step out into all God has prepared for them. We are about to rise up on a wave of blessing in our nation and unique callings. Dreams and goals that may have lay dormant for many years are about to blossom in our lives. Let’s seize the day and Steemit forth with joy and gladness as God fulfills His promises to those whose hearts are turned towards Him.

Learn more about going forth into all God has called you to in The Gatekeeper’s Key: Crossing Thresholds through Portals of Potential(https://pageantwagonpublishing.com/inspirational-christian-living/gatekeepers-key) by Kathryn Ross.

Sort:  

Greetings and welcome to Steemit!

I'll definitely see you around #writing.

Cheers!

~ Mako

Congratulations @misskathypwp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98