The Good Old Days

in #writing8 years ago

I miss the good old days:

When an extra key for my car cost only a couple of dollars to make.
When my car did not automatically lock me inside it and possibly trap me inside after a bad accident.
When car makers did not think we're all stupid and need electronic sensors to tell us common sense things.
When car engines were simpler and less expensive to repair.
When gas was only 99 cents a gallon.

I miss the good old days:

When we did not have to hear other people's telephone conversations in stores and restaurants.
When there wasn't so much fast food and processed food to make us overweight and give us health problems.
When our corn, wheat, and other foods were not genetically modified.
When people still wrote letters.

I miss the good old days:

When families could watch a movie or television show together without getting embarrassed by it's contents.
When children grew up playing games outdoors in the sunshine and fresh air, and were not indoors too much. playing with their electronic devices and not getting enough exercise.

I miss the good old days:

When we did not feel that we had to be so politically correct in the things we wrote and said.
When we did not feel that our constitutional rights were being taken away from us.
When it was very obvious who was a man and who was a woman.

I miss the good old days.

Sort:  

Oh god yes, I agree 100%. I miss the good old days when taking care of the home and the children wasn't viewed as 'slavery'.

Btw, you are more than welcome to enter the ongoing Haiku contest with the chance of winning a book: https://steemit.com/poetry/@steemswede/haiku-contest-write-the-best-haiku-poem-and-win-a-book

When people new how to sew a button back on, when kids could look at an analog clock and new how to tell time. When books where considered reading material not craft supplies. When clothes were sewn to last decades, not days. Yep, I here ya on this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77