You look Unusual

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It was a long night, Delilah just got back from work. Life is not doing okay for her right now. She had to catch up with classes and also her commission work. She slowly walked to the kitchen, searching for anything that she can munched. She was so hungry. The schedule was so packed she barely had her dinner sometimes. While she eating the leftover from dinner, Eve, Delilah's mum was at the kitchen too. Preparing for tomorrow breakfast.

"You look terrible" Eve said.
"I'm fine, thanks Mom"
" I haven't heard you talked about him for a while", " Have you tried called him?"
"I've tried"
"No answer?"
Delilah shrugged. "I'm going to my room right now, goodnight Mom"

She didn't talked about it because talking about would have been conceding it. It's been a while she haven't contacted with her best friend. More like a boyfriend to be exact. Fyn. She opened her laptop and checked her email. Their last conversation was 1 month ago. She sighed. Fyn suddenly stop contacting after few months right when he arrived in japan for his study. Email was the only medium for them to talk because he never answered his phone.

Delilah is typing...

Delilah to Fyn Hey, it's been awhile. How's things there? Did you stop reading email or what? Please reply asap when you see this.
The message was successfully sent.

It was almost eleven o'clock and she lie on her bed while gazed on their old conversations and picture. He never failed to make her laugh with his funny puns or jokes. They also shared the same interest like drawing and comics. She still remember her last conversation with him during their video call at Saturday's night, exactly one month ago.

"I don't think I'm good at anything. In Japan, everyone seems to have at least one major that they're good in it while im here just a 22 year old boy who barely know anything. I don't even know why I'm here" said Fyn.
"Come on Fyn, I know you, what are you good at and we both knew that the reason you're studying there is because you passed the evaluation. You're a smartass boy"
"What am I good at?" asked Fyn
"Well..uhm let's see, we'll make a list, maybe that's helpful enough to see what you're good at."
Delilah opened her notebook and wrote THINGS FYN IS GOOD AT at the top of the page.
"What do you think you are good at? And don't say you don't know"

"I don't know." Fyn laughing. "You pick my major." he'd said. He'd laid his head and watch her write things.

  1. Physics
    "I'm not good at physics."
    "You are," said Delilah. "You're in honors physics".
    "I'm good enough to be in honors physics but I'm not good at it. I'm getting a B, even worse C."
    "You're good at math too, I saw your performance in class. And History"
    "Now you're making it seems like I'm good at six different things when it's all the same thing. You should just wrote SCHOOL instead."
    "This is not working, you're not helping at all Fyn. Fine, now it's no longer your list. It's mine".

Delilah wrote something.

THINGS FYN IS GOOD AT
School
Pretty much anything to do with numbers
Avoiding the issue
Staying calm
Driving in bad weather
Laughing at my jokes
Remembering jokes
Remembering song lyrics
Being helpful
Games
Explaining complicated things
Giving good advice
Giving bad advice
Giving good driving directions
Know how to fix things like unfreezing computers or fix the pipe
Being cute
Making me feel cute
Making me feel important
And loved
Being SMART

"What's that?" Fyn asked.
"It's kind of everything. And it's called putting things together and making them make sense or at least look sense"
"That sound fascinating." he said.
"Don't be sarcastic."
"I'm not. That sounds fascinating. Perfect. You're the best."

And apparently that was their last video call together. She wondered where could he be and why he is not replying. Is something happen to him? Every night was a depressing night for her as she miss him so much. Delilah spent her night scrolling and scrolling the screen and without her realization, she fell asleep. With her phone that have his picture on it.

IMG_20180901_192651_065.jpg

P/s: this story was an adaptation inspired by my favorite book. attachments. And also based on my story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55