INSPIRATION OF TAXI DRIVER IN DUBAI

in #writing6 years ago


One day, during a work visit, I waited in line to take a taxi at Dubai airport.
When a taxi stopped, the first thing I noticed was that the taxi was so clean and shiny.
The driver dressed in a white shirt, black tie and black trousers jumped out and circled the car to open the passenger door for me.

He handed over a lamination card saying, I'm Abdul.
While I put your bag in the trunk, I want you to read my mission statement.

I was surprised when I read the card. Written there, Mission Statement:
To deliver customers to their destination with the fastest, safest and cheapest and create a friendly environment.

When I sat behind, Abdul said, Do you want a cup of coffee? I have a decaf coffee flask.



I replied with a joke, No, I prefer soft drinks.

Abdul quickly said, "There is no problem.
I have a cooler containing cola, lassi (traditional yogurt drinks), mineral water, and orange juice.

With a little nervousness, I said, I'll take lassi.

Thrusting my drink, Abdul said, If you want something to read, I provide The Straits Times, The Star and Sun Today.

Then Abdul asked if I wanted to listen to the radio and music.

As if it wasn't enough, on the way, Abdul even asked if the air conditioning temperature was comfortable for me.

Soon, he suggested the best route to my destination for the day. He also informed that he would be happy to chat, as well as giving information on some sights or places of interest for guests visiting from abroad.

I said with admiration,Do you always serve customers like this?

Abdul smiled and answered kindly while glancing at the rearview mirror.
No, not always.
In fact, I have only honestly done this in the past 2 years.
During my first 5 years working as a driver, I spent most of my time complaining like most colleagues around me.
Then one day, I heard a story about the power of choice.

You can choose to be duck or eagle. If you wake up in the morning and think you will have a bad day, you will disappoint yourself.
Stop complaining! Don't be a 'duck' who just complains. Be an 'eagle' fly high above the crowd, "he explained.
That sentence opens my mind.



This is about myself.

During this time I always complained, so I immediately decided to change my attitude and become an eagle.
I looked around, lots of dirty taxis, unfriendly drivers, and unhappy customers.
I decided to "Make some changes, slowly, gradually but surely. When my customers respond well, I repeat it again," he continued.

"The first year as an 'eagle', I made a double income from the previous year.
This year my income increased by 4x. My passengers always call me to pick him up again.

Abdul made different choices. He decided to stop complaining and racing, flying high above most people.

Start being an eagle today. Just make a positive small step, every day, every week.
And so on, and so on. Improve yourself and your abilities in different and extraordinary ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95