You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 tips to make radically inclusive art!

in #writing6 years ago

I notice these issues particularly where i am from where the original peoples of this country are still treated as second class citizens. I think white Australians have a guilt complex from past mistreatments that still leaks out as self-justifications. The Aborigine's voices are being heard more and more these days, but still in isolated context, such as sport, and movies.

I had the good fortune of seeing an Australian movie as a child, called Storm Boy where a young boy befriends a pelican and an Aboriginal. This moulded my thinking at just the right time. I wrote a post very recently on my thoughts about this.

But yes, privilege is very uneven in my home country. To me art is a wonderful way to address such topics as this, to give voice to an issue, and do so in ways that people often resist when done directly.

Sort:  

I’d love to read that article, if you’d share the link?

It’s interesting to talk about these dynamics in different countries--there seem to be stark patterns of suppression and discomfort in places that were colonized by Europeans early on. Having the conversation is really uncomfortable for many folks, and because it is uncomfortable, we continue to fail to fully address it. Art is such a great way in to all of this--I agree with you and could go on, but I won’t! :)

In Australia land rights is central to everything. The colonisers literally stole it all. No declaration of war, no treaty. Just took it. We in today's age live off the benefit of that theft. That's where it gets tricky, and brings up big upsets on all sides. It's slowly being taken seriously with a genuine attempt to heal past issues, but I emphasise slowly.

The conversation does get uncomfortable, usually. I do understand why. Anyway, just wanted to share my thoughts, and appreciation for your post.

And thank you for letting me share my link:

Revisiting Childhood with Storm Boy and Mr Percival

That article is a really interesting read. Interesting notes on Australia, too. I spent a few weeks working in Hawai’i last year and there were similar feelings between the native Hawaiians and the white American folks who lived there. The Hawaiian people own a ridiculously small amount of land and have the least amount of money on the islands, despite the fact that it used to be their country. A sensitive topic for sure...but important to know about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69346.64
ETH 3676.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21