PRIDE LIKE VACUUM

in #writing6 years ago

IMG_20180817_181243_357.jpg

Hello Steemit.
I want to render my apology for not being here to post the continuation of the series as I promised. It was because of, because... because...Hahaha! I'm still working on it.
Huh! I missed it here. Well, let me post a reality in my past while I thoroughly work on the series thing. It's an extract from my diary in 2017. I've changed the actual names though, to protect the identities of the persons concerned.

The time on my phone was precisely 12:25 a.m. I was in the courtyard of the hostel, sitting on the edge of the stony pavements which enclosed the field with laundry lines for drying washed clothes.
I was only in pants and had stuffed lots of white powder on my face, neck, shoulders, breasts, arms, stomach, laps and a lesser quantity on my back.
I came out because, power outage in school and the crowded room had become hell hot as the rusted-noisy-fan gradually came to a standstill. The windows were so tightly clasped with old mosquito nets that not even the slightest of nature's fresh air could filter through.

My thoughts were still freshly contemplating what had transpired two hours ago between me and Martina my room mate. She beckoned on me with her hand to come closer. "Let me tell you that gist I wanted to tell you in the afternoon". So, I left my up bunk bed and drew closer and she blurted " I don't like what your friend did today. She came and didn't greet me, then she looked at me...She shouldn't be coming to this corner if she cant greet." I felt stung instantly! It had nothing to do with what she had just said but because she had not even cared to reduce her voice after asking me to come closer. This, I imagined would only make my other room mates start looking down on me and taking me for granted or even find it comfortingly easy to approach me with whatever demeaning opinions, that came up about me in their minds. So I retorted rather loudly, "That's how she is. You should have asked for the greeting yourself..." Can't remember what else I said but I was glad and a little proud about how cool and fearless I had sounded.

IMG_20180817_180954_799.jpg

I went over to another of my room mate to get an African play I had requested from her minutes earlier. Then I informed her, unnecessarily loud too, about the short scenario I'm convinced she had already heard. She handed me the play and I thanked her. I climbed up my bunk and flipped open the book with my heart still pounding heavily. I stared at the first page for over 15 minutes and when Martina was done with her phone call, she called my name and started saying something that sounded like "...did not mean to be rude." At that, my anger went all down like water over soaring bush fire; and right now, I can't even imagine why I got angry in the first place. Oh! Maybe I wanted to prove my big-girl self-worth. Or to show them all that, I'm not someone to be messed with or taken for granted on loud trivial talks. And I was not going to take the opportunity the very next day was offering for granted.

So, I forced my thoughts to focus solely on the next day. All of my churchy skirts wouldn't make it to the competitive outing stage. I had not yet decided on whether to wear a trouser or just a short gown. But I was sure about making up my face until the shape of my face went from oval or oblong to pencil-like. I was also sure about spraying my two perfumes, and even begging from all my room mates that had, just to be on the classic-smelling safe side. Then, on glancing round and not seeing the other two girls I had sighted when I initially came out, I hurriedly got up in a second of fright , slightly shivering from the cold and smiling at myself about the next day.

IMG_20180817_180917_151.jpg

I brushed my tongue so rigorously, I could be heard at the streets making those slurpy sounds that happens when the tooth brush has touched the epiglottis that leads down the throat. It was the fourth time I was having my shower in one day. I scrubbed my body so hard my skin felt pains at the tender application of cream.I tried nearly all of my special-occasion wears on shoes that I had a shy-based policy of not wearing whenever it struck 4 p.m down and walked to the only mirror installed at the middle of the hostel. From my room, it was a three quarter walk which means six for each to and fro.
The makeup was so plenty, my face looked dusty and my tear gland was spilling a flood of tears to stop the chemicals from getting right into my eyes.
I sprayed perfume into my hair, behind my ears, around my neck, and considerably heavy fumes into each of my armpits. It was so much that I soon felt I was going to go up in flames. Then I sprayed just very little on my trousers to my immediate discomfort and the look of dismay on my room mates' faces. The most anticipated next day was going to end in just a few hours away. That was 14th of February, 2017, my very first Valentine's outing. And my grandest day to prove to my room mates that I deserved some low-voiced privacy only when necessary if I was ever going to be whispered to!

The worst thing that can happen to a girl in the higher institution is when her boyfriend tells her on phone that he is coming to take her out and rather takes her on the kind of "out" that is literally places she has not been to around the vicinity of the school, only to end up inside a classroom.
I felt like I was back in an evening class waiting for one of my lecturers who had promised an extramural lesson to show up. I went ahead and felt unworthy of being spent on. I guess that sort of "take you out" was happening because I initially permitted it by encouraging the lets-just-stay-in-school syndrome whenever he complained of being a little broke. It was inexplicably boring. I started feeling it'll be better to spend an entire day in a family meeting with assortments of old men. We didn't have half a bit of connection! Maybe just me though, cuz he was talking away merrily while I stared attentively. My thoughts wouldn't even welcome a word!

IMG_20180817_180819_891.jpg

What gist was I going to give my eager room mates?
What left overs and take-away was I going to show my room mates as evidence that I had eaten more than I could finish?
And what packaged food was I going to give them like a true not-to-be-messed-with girl who had grand Valentine outing?
Dear Lord!

Sort:  

try ulogging and it is always dead easy.

I definitely will @surpassinggoogle.
Thank you very much for suggesting. I really do appreciate.

Hmmmn what school might you be referring to though?

Oh! Should totally have included that. Its The University of Uyo in Akwa Ibom State and the country is Nigeria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61