Waking To His Voice

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Her Awakenings
One chirp. I stirred in bed slightly.
Another chirp. One eye opened lazily, turning in the direction of the sound.
As I picked up the phone, another high pitched tweet and the vibration of the third text coming through. It was Saturday. Who the hell was texting at 7:47am?

Rubbing my eyes to encourage them into focus, I swiped up on the screen.

Lost In That Voice
"Good morning Miss Alicia. Angie gave me your number last night - so blame her. She said you loved the Bay. I was going to offer my services as a Bay tour guide this afternoon. Interested?"

I swiped up again, clearing the screen to start a new text.

"WAKE UP. YOU'RE A DEAD WOMAN."

The incoming text chirped almost immediately.

"Sorry. Angie can't come to the phone right now. And she only gave your number away cuz she knows what's good for you."

I stared at the phone with glaring eyes, imagining the verbal pummeling I would give to her later. But now, I needed to respond. I could wait until later, but why keep him waiting? I wasn't one for playing games.

He Wants More...
"Hey. Angie's funny. Love the Bay but need to get some reading done today."
"Awesome. Bring your textbooks. I'll bring lunch. Pick you up at 11:30."

I scrunched my eyebrows and re-read the text. I started to text back, but was interrupted by another chirp.

"Shoot. Didn't charge my phone. Out on run. No need to text back - see you at 11:30"

PITA, she really is...
I swiped one more time.

"Ang - quick question. Why is my best friend such an asshole?"
"Face it. The world needs assholes. Without us, they would die alone. unhappy. frigid."
"I like being alone and unhappy."
"Frigid too? I'd love to continue this, but I'm sleeping. Kisses."
"I hate you."
"Enjoy the Bay."

Melting me
11:30 on the dot, Nick arrived. I had to admit it, though I hated to do so- I was excited to see him. When he rang the doorbell, my heart did a little flip-flop. I opened the door and got lost in his eyes for the tiniest moment.

Part 4: More Beginnings - love, Alicia
Part 3: Her Beginnings - love, Nick
Part 2: in The Beginning - love, Nick
Part 1: That Night! - love, Alicia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75