Basic Combat Training #1 ~ my first week

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


picture from google

Well, it started with a massive hangover, little to no sleep.
I was running late as well to make the plane on time.
Met with one of the recruiters to get my ticket, then shortly after it was time to go. I bode farewell to my family, including my 2nd son at one month old and boarded the plane, my first flight ever.
short flight to atlanta and then the longer one to St. louis Missouri.
Waited in the USO room talked with some others ready to go to the same place.
When it was time to go we boarded a greyhound bus, and headed on to Fort Leonard wood.
Upon arrival you could feel the fear from everyone.
And then as the bus stopped at the front doors of the reception hall a Sgt wearing a brown hat came out. [the brown hat strikes so much fear]
He yells at us to run out, get the f!@# off his bus and line up,
So we do.
After a buch of paperwork, running, getting are PT uniforms and ALOT of yelling we finally get to go to the barracks for some sleep.
Over the next couple of days we learn how to address higher ranked enlisted, go through lines, learn army knowledge and do ALOT bunch more paperwork [enough to write a book per person lol]
The days werent that long, just tedious and hoping to stay under the radar of a killer drill Sgt.
On D day, [The day we meet the Drill Sgt's who will train us for over two months]
we get rushed outside in our uniforms, pretty muched sandwhiched in 5 different lines with 2, 50 lb duffle bags full of all our gear and stuff, we wait for them, quiet, still, fearful.
As soon as they show up they start yelling.
get your bags, get on the bus, move, move ,move
most panicked, i just followed suit.
In the hot bus we rode to a valley, initiation valley
as soon as we got there more yelling,
get off the bus, move, move, move,
Off the bus and down the hill we went for what they call "shark attack"
Its a bunch of yelling, barking orders and seeing who will crack.
after that they divide us by the first initial of our last name to form PLT's
I was in 2nd [the best! lol]
before we even started marching, somebody spoke without being spoken too [big no no as a private in training]
and we all got the half-left march. front leaning rest position move [Pretty much push-ups just army style]
After that we marched to our training barracks.
Hot, Fatigued and scared only 3 people fell out, never making past day 0.
After introductions from our DS [Drill Sgt, for future reference]
and paper work. we finally got a breather.
I cant remember if we got smoked [extensive army excersizing] or not, I prolly hit the bed a little too hard from exhaustion.
We had got one more phone call, to tell our loved ones we made it and we were ok.
then it was off to bed at 2100 [9 o'clock EST] for 7 - 8 hours if lucky.


I hope you enjoyed reading. im not the best writer or speller on keyboard but im trying,
I'll be trying to do more as i remember them. Thanks for reading!


Copy of @NightShift1134.png

And if you have a spare vote go here and vote for me as a witness

Footer by @rvanstel

Sort:  

Interesting story. You should write more.

I wish you good fortune in the wars to come

I was reading your story and thinking to myself: I'm too lucky I won't get to join the army!

It's not that bad outside of training, training is just meant to transform you from civilian to soldier so they have to tough, all the while you "volunteered" to do this lol

Well, in my country men have to join for 9 months (men only). For some it's difficult, for others it's not. It depends on the camp and the people you're with.
And I said I'm lucky because it's not the orders and pressure I can't handle, but I doubt if my body would endure.
I admire those people's strength and stamina and sometimes I'm even jealous of them (you know, because I'm a puss and I wouldn't pull it off )

I wish my country would make it mandatory, cause not only does it physically train but mentally train, and shoot plenty of women make it through ours, its mostly mind over body, and the want too, but yeah i feel you, im the same way with Ranger training which is like the elite training and im like nope, my body isnt ready or able, lol

Exactly. Well, some may argue that military service should not be obligatory, but even from a 2-month basic training a person could benefit a lot. I'm not for making a soldier out of every one, not all people can do this, but you never know when some basics would come in handy. At least some self defence and discipline stuff.

I agree. I also believe it should be mandatory to impregnate all women at the age of 18 for the shake of our species. It would also teach them some discipline and stuff.

Ill never forget that call... About 30 seconds long... All I got was " I love you baby so much I made it here safe. This is all the time I got, I love you"

cool

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-01 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Congratulations @nightshift1134! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70