Episode 3: Press Pause

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180125_204602.png

So sorry for the break in transmission...I was having issues with my steemit account. I don't know if anyone else was having the problem. Hope you like this new episode! Toodles!!


EPISODE 3: PRESS PAUSE


It was official. Ada was now a Mrs. The occasion had been a breathtaking one with Richard and Ada proclaiming their love to each other so fiercely. The food had been plentiful too and the DJ had brought out his best. It was really wonderful.

As Nkem sat on her oversize bed, she yawned and kicked the heels off her feet.
She could barely feel her soles, and all she truly wanted to do was soak herself in warm water and breathe. After a few minutes of meaningful pep talk, she stood up to draw herself a bath.

While she sat in the tub with her eyes closed, she thought of the entire day. Maybe she had overreacted with Kingsley. She had only been upset that he did not pop the question after so many years together. She truly wanted to be his woman before God and the Law. It had hurt even more as she watched her twin and her in-law exchange vows on the altar with much more passion than she could ever muster. She wanted to be that girl...the one that was so in love she could barely breathe, and also got the love in equal or even higher proportion.

She flicked a bubble away from her hand and watched it float to the other side. The glistening reminded her of the ring she had tossed into her bag in frustration. The sardonic laughter that escaped her lips could not be helped. She wanted the ring to be replaced with a proper wedding band and it was funny that she practically had to beg for it.

Minutes passed as she battled with her pride. To call Kingsley or not to call. To beg or not to beg. It was so confusing. Maybe a glass of wine will help, she thought aloud.

Five glasses later, she decided to place the call.
"What will I say to him?" she asked while staring at her mirror.
"I could just say I had raging hormones or something serious," she mentioned. "Or my period!"
She shook her head slowly. "He already knows my calendar. It's too obvious anyway."
Eventually, she decided to claim that she did not know the spirit that came over her. She had a strong spiritual side and she decided he was going to buy it. After rehearsing her speech, she called Kingsley.

"Hello," he greeted cautiously.
"Hi. How was your day?"
"It was good," he answered. "Yours?"
Nkem felt a sting she could not identify. It was supposed to be a miserable day for him. They had had a fallout.
"Fine."
Silence. Then Nkem spoke up.
"I don't know what came over me earlier. It was probably seeing my sister get married that triggered that reaction," she explained.
"I thought so too," he said patiently. Nkem whispered a silent prayer to her gods. He was not going to make a fuss.
"So, are we good?" she asked. A confirmation was always necessary from Kingsley. He had a habit of steaming for too long about conflicts that she had considered settled. He had done it so many times that she had become used to it.
"I think we might need a break...", he announced after a few seconds, shocking her out of her reverie.
"What? I'm not sure I heard that clearly. Could you say that again?" she asked. She wanted to believe that she had not heard correctly.
"I'm not sure I need to. I think you heard me", he told her. "Goodnight Nkem," he whispered and the line went dead.

Sort:  

Great content @nneoma

Oh my! that was way too hard, the guy no try abeg
Nne, you're doing well🙌🏼🙌

Thank you! (Don't ask why I am replying now).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64