Camp Nanowrimo Update: Day 3, Busy, Busy, Busy

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I'll just come out and say it. I wrote zero, as in 0, words for my novel today. But I'm ok with that.

IMG-2893 (1).JPG

My family and I drove to our cabin in the woods (also affectionately known as "camp") and the normal two and a half hour drive somehow ended up taking nearly six.

Nothing went wrong, no disasters or accidents. We just took our time. We played Pokemon Go, ate junk food and blasted music on the highway.

A not pleasant welcome

The camp is in rural location, literally the second to last property on a dead end unpaved road. It's woods country. I always drive slow because we often see animals traveling on or across the road.

This time we encountered a family of turkeys. Did you know they could fly? My daughter didn't so she was thrilled to see them fly up into the trees.

We drove on and saw one our our neighbors had a new animal on his farm. A beautiful peacock!

That's when we saw the full extent of our welcome committee.

Deer flies. Dozens of them. They flew around and hung onto the car as we drove. When we got to our camp we had to wait in the car for them to disburse. They never did.

I had to run outside into the secret spot to get the key (don't ask why it works this way. I don't have a good answer). I felt like the Laura Dern character in Jurassic Park when she goes to the power facility. Once I retrieved the key, I had to get to the door to unlock the camp so the kids could get inside before being feasted upon.

Once we successfully made it inside and had all our things it was time to eat. And from there it went and midnight came before I knew it.

So no words written, but I do have lots of pictures and video to share at some point. My internet connection here is too slow to upload anything.

Stay tuned to see what happens tomorrow!

enter image description here

writing class banner.png

Remember you can post any question at any time. You don't need to wait for a live session.

If you have any questions about this content, please let me know in the comments. Or better yet, click the banner to join my channel on Steemit Greeter's Guild!

SGG Banner

Note: All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. The Steemit Greeter's Guild banners provided by @terminallyill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80