New month, new home, new topics: Writing Class Update! 6/1/18 Win SBI!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It feels like forever since I’ve held one of my writing classes. It’s been on an official vacation for a few weeks while I went to London to help my daughter move out of her residence hall. We’re both home now and mostly acclimated to being back and sleeping once again.

Just in case you’ve ever thought of trying it, I don’t recommend getting 24 hours of sleep over the course of 7 days. I’d post a picture to prove it, but I’m too embarrassed about the bags under my eyes at the end of the trip! Sleep is important and don’t let anyone tell you different. (silently slides soapbox off to the side).

Here are a few pictures that I managed to take in between packing and running for planes.

This is the view when you walked outside my daughter’s residence. The Shard is so tall you can see it from most anywhere.

Shard in London

We made time to go to a local park on Pokemon Go Community Day (note there are fewer Pokemon in London than the city we usually go to with 95% less people!)

London Park

From a hill on the park, you can see the Gherkin and the Cheesegrater. On the left side you can just see the edge of the Walkie Talkie.

Gherkin

What wonderful names for buildings! Londoner’s must be hungry folks.

While traveling on a double-decker bus we passed this building-with-dreams-of-flying called the Strata SE1.

Strata London

It’s the one on the left with the propellers on top.

On our final day, she took me to where her school is and we had lunch.

Fish & chips

I had to try the traditional fish and chips. She said next time I visit we’ll go somewhere that tastes good. The best thing on this plate was the tartar sauce.

And finally, we walked to a statue I’ve been wanting to see since I knew she was going to London.

Faraday

One SBI share to the first person who comments and tells me what he’s holding and how you know that (it’s ok to look it up, just be honest!). Here’s a hint, he’s often called the father of electricity…

Now for more about writing class

Originally I planned to return this Sunday, June 3. But there’s been some changes!

First, we’re moving to the Steemit Greeter’s Guild Discord Server. Our channel is not quite ready as of this writing but the class will be hosted there at the same time (Sundays 8-10 pm Eastern US) as before. Tentatively, I’m planning on starting on June 10th, but stay tuned for the official announcement.

You can learn all about SSG and their mission by looking at their profile and blogs: https://steemit.com/@greetersguild. You can also join the discord server by clicking on the image above. It’s a great community and I hope you’ll come join us.

Second, I was running a contest for people who posted questions or topics they wanted me to cover in my future classes. I only received one that met my criteria.

@erikklok asked about writing technical topics for “dummies”. Specifically he was interested in data analysis but I’m generalizing because I think it’s a great question. It’s really hard to write about a topic where you are an expert, or just someone who knows the topic well (in case you don’t feel you meet the expert category). At least it’s hard when you’re not writing to other experts. So I will be covering this topic in a future class, and @erikklok will get 1 SBI share when I do.

Third, there’s still time to add other questions! If you want another chance to win SBI, comment on this post with a topic or question related to writing that you would like to see covered in class. It can be anything as long as it’s relevant (and I get to be the judge of that). IF I chose to use your topic or question in one of my classes you’ll get 1 share of SBI.

If you don't know how awesome SBI shares are, read this post:
https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-frequently-asked-questions

Make sure to follow and check back to see when the next writing class begins.


Finally I want to thank everyone for their support over the last few weeks. I had a few offers for a new home for my class but SSG and their mission of helping Steemit members grow and be supported fit it best. THANK YOU @terminallyill for creating a safe, supportive space for me. To those that reached out to me personally I look forward to seeing you in class soon!

enter image description here

If you have any questions about this content, please let me know in the comments. Or better yet, click the banner to join my channel on Steemit Greeter's Guild!

Note: All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. @GreetersGuild banners provided by @terminallyill

Sort:  

Michael Faraday held an induction ring in his hand. I google to find the answer.
Possible topic can be how we come up with fresh ideas again when we ran out of ideas.

And we have a winner! I've sponsored you for 1 share of SBI .

confirmation faraday sbi.png

Faraday's induction ring was the first electric transformer. Today, modern versions are used in delivering the proper voltage to homes, engines and devices. The actual ring is on display in the Faraday Museum in the Royal Institution in London.

That's a great idea and one that many people struggle with when blogging. I covered how to think of things to write in a previous class but I'm open to doing it again. Take a look at that post and let me know if you have any questions or other related ideas you'd like to see in a future class.

https://steemit.com/dynamicsteemians/@ntowl/questions-about-writing-i-ve-got-answers-notes-for-session-1-s-writing-class-on-dynamicsteemians-discord

Thank you so much for the sponsor! This is the first time that I am participating and I am glad to be the winner.

You're welcome!

Wow, this is the best post i seen today about essay writing, how may I start @ntowl, any links?? I also want to contribute and win SBI as well since its part of the offer. : )

@kiddady all your questions are answered in the post...if you want to win SBI you'll need to follow what it says. : ]

I look forward to your writing classes. Awesome pictures there in London. My opinion or more like question goes thus. How do you keep your mind on a certain topic while writing, seems easy to lose focus as random thoughts fly in?

Awesome question! It definitely makes the list for a class topic. I’ll tag you when I cover it so you’ll know when it’s happening and after the class I’ll give you the SBI share.

Thanks for the comment!

Awesome! I look forward to it. Glad you found it worthy, it's one thing I have been trying to fix. Sure, I'm not alone on this. Many others will definitely be interested.

I took a quick look at your blog. Most of your posts are educational regardless of age group. You can consider joining the steemiteducation discord and have steemiteducation tag where great articles like yours can get upvote too.

I've checked out the @steemiteducation account and I see lots of interesting stuff. Quite a variety. I couldn't though, find a link to the discord. Could you post a link @fun2learn?

I am new to discord actually. Can you try out this link to see whether it works. https://discord.gg/RTafMN for steemiteducation discord

@fun2learn the link was invalid - I took to long to get back to it. By default the invites are set to expire, though you can make not expire. Can you send another one and tag me in the response so I'll see it faster? Thank you for helping!

Welcome to @steemiteducation! I am glad that you manage to join us! You can definitely add great value to the platform. The members are also very supportive with one another's articles.

@fun2learn, I'm in! Thank you. It's bedtime here but I'll check out the server tomorrow.

I am so thrilled to read your post, @ntowl. I will be able to join your first live writing class on the 10th of June, which is 11th in my time zone as it is our long weekend here and I won't have work, of course.

As for the topic and relating to @lightoj's question:

How do you keep your mind on a certain topic while writing, seems easy to lose focus as random thoughts fly in?

Now, what words or transition words that are best to use whilst avoiding the use of clichés in order for me to go back to my purpose of writing an article or a blog? I remember in your previous writing class that we should avoid using clichés.

Because I have learnt so much from your topic on most commonly misused or misspelled words, maybe another discussion on common grammatical errors we often commit, such as dangling modifiers, etc.?

Thanks @ntowl. I am so looking forward to attending your class.

Sending you love and hugs. Xx

Thank you @evlachsblog!

If I understand you right, you're looking for:

  • more info/advice on avoiding cliches (I can't seem to get that fancy "e" to work on my keyboard!)and
  • more common errors people make. that class was so much fun we should do it again! Afterwards I thought of many more examples.

The 10th is just tentative. I'm still working on the backend of things and getting my material together. I will do my best to be ready though so you can attend. It warms my heart to know you'd come to my class on a long weekend!

Yes, spot on, @ntowl! I would love for you to cover those topics on one of your sessions.
Are you using a MacBook or Windows? Because on Windows, I hold Alt + 130 to type that fancy "e". I am not familiar with commands on MacBook.

Oh, you know that if I could I would always be present in your writing class. So I hope your class will be on the 10th. If not, then I'll just catch up later and back read your lessons. :-)

I'm on windows, but I guess I'm too lazy to look up the code to use. I remembered I could do that as soon as I read your explanation! Though sometimes I'm typing on iOS too. There's a way to do it there too but again I'm too lazy.

I'll need to do better though because I'm not setting much of an example am I?

I hope to see you in class!

Yes, for sure there's a way to do it on iOS. I prefer Windows though. I remember writing the codes down after learning the Alt codes to type special letters and characters. If I don't remember, I just keep on guessing the three numbers until I get the correct letter. :-)

Yes, please don't be lazy. We want to know if a word is of French origin or other languages by how they are spelled out. Haha!!! But I'm sure you won't be in your class. :-)

Hey, I'll definitely be there if it's on the 10th. Yay!!!!

Michael Faraday is holding a quoit. He was the world champion quoitsman for three years running from 1863 till 1866. He died in 1867 from starvation after being locked up in a cage by his insane cousin Jeff, who went on to invent the Faraday cage three years later. He evaded prosecution but everyone knows he did it.

That's an amusing twist on history! Thanks for stopping by and sharing.

Haha, thank you for humouring my silliness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78