The Daddy Stance

in #writing6 years ago

image
Hey guys, I’ve been thinking about parents and what it means to be a grown. Or rather, what it means to be an adult. I turned twenty not too long ago I did the thing we all do when we hit a milestone… I reminisced.
Growing up, I was an only child. I still am. And I didn’t have too many friends (over protective mom) so I used o follow my parents around a lot. Every so often, when they were on their own, they would stare into blank space, thinking. That pose where their hand is rubbing their chin and their eyes are blank. My dad did it more so I named it “the daddy pose”. I was a hyperactive kid so I couldn’t understand why anyone would want to sit so still for so long, thinking. Every so often I’d ask why they did it and I’d get the same reply.

Nwa’m, hapu zi anya

My parents always speak igbo to me. It translates to
My child, don’t worry about it
I was a kid so I didn’t worry, but I did wonder. Atleast until I got old enough to have my own problems.

It hit me one day when I was thinking about something and my friend asked me what was wrong. All I said was that it was nothing. Then I remembered how I used to ask my dad the same thing. It turns out the daddy pose isn’t just for dads. Everyone gets stressed and everyone has problems and everyone does the daddy pose at one point in time or the other. The older we get, the more we have to deal with and the more stress we feel.
I took all this into consideration and must say, I’ve come a long way. I know isn’t much but at the same time, it’s appreciable. And I respect the true adults, the moms and dads that are thinking about their problems and the entire family’s problems. Its not easy and I just want you all to know that there is atleast one person in this world that appreciates you. Your efforts are the reason this world is beautiful.

If you enjoyed this post please
Upvote
Comment
Resteem

Sort:  

It's never a bad thing to be introspective. To reflect. To reason. To attempt to make sense of the world around us. Thanks for sharing @ogai.
thinking cartoon.jpg

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @anomadsoul, @GuyFawkes4-20 and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @fingersik

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56