Home

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The sun is out, bright and shining, the grass is green and healthy, and warmth hugs us with arms of happiness. The day so beautiful, nothing can ruin this moment.

The sun shines the room, the furniture glows with bright hues, and it's filled with joy.

I look at a face.
Smiling.
Eyes wide and bright.
Makes me happy.
We laugh together.

This is home. Kaleidoscopic, warm, and light. I want this day to last forever. I want this moment to last forever. My home cures my depression, my anger. I laugh with the other face.

THEN...

The rain falls, dark and gloomy, the room feels heavy and stressed. The furniture no longer glowing. Instead, they're falling apart, fabric torn and soggy.

The rain is seeping through the ceiling. The ceiling is falling apart.

There is no face.
No smile.
Only. Blank.
Makes me solemn.
I cry alone.

This is my home. Empty, cold, and filled with misery. I can't feel anything but sorrow as I see tears from the other face.

ALL OF A SUDDEN...

Flames engulf the room, burning the furniture, stripping them naked to the bone. I hear wood burning, sparking.

The fire burns on my skin, but it doesn't eat it away. It just stays on my skin. It's painful.

The face burns, melts away.
No smile, only silent screaming.
The fire burns in anger and pain.
I scream in fury.

This is home. Burning hot, unbearable, and it's worse than hell. The skin peels away from the other face.

HOWEVER...

The darkness takes over. Nothing can be seen, and there's no furniture. The room is empty, except for breathing. Then whispers.

There's something else in the room. I can hear it. I can feel it. It's out to attack.

The face smiles. Menace. Evil.
The eyes are red.
I can't look away. There was nowhere else to go.
I shake in panic.

This is home. Dark, void, and terrifying. The face is blue, bearing teeth with venom seeping out from within.

Home.
Home.
Home.
HOME.

Is this home? Where is home? One moment it's bright, then it's cold, next it's burning hot, and then it's dark. I don't know whether to stay or run.

I can't take it anymore.
I want to scream and cry for help.
But I have nowhere else to go.
I'm lonely, and I have no other home.

Where to go? What to do? Who do I talk to?

BLANK

I see the sun again. I see my home. It glows from the sun, and I see the face.
Smiling.
Full of life.
Standing next to the green grass.

I'm happy.
I can feel it.

Welcome home...

HOME

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73