My First 24 Hours in Steemit - The N00B MistakessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

So it was yesterday evening, 24 hours ago that I decided to open my account and make my very first introduction post.

eugenio-mazzone-190204-unsplash.jpg

The site gives me a pop-up and offers instruction manual as I'm a new Steemer.
Skips
Hey I know already all the essential things, so no thanks! I do not need that.

Right?

I start to craft my introduction blog post without any deeper thoughts, just a photo and a couple lines of text. "Surely I will get 10 $ for this, how hard it can be?"

I press the post button and off it goes, to the steemit community and I feel excited. Money, here we come!

Hours past and my post manages to get only $1.05. Oops. Time to investigate what when wrong.

-Missing horizontal proto
-Text unoriginal & not interesting
-Not knowing anybody important on the platform.

I keep smashing the upvote button on every comment until one kind soul tells me to avoid it. I log into steemnow service https://www.steemnow.com and I see that my voting power is down to 44.12%. 66 hours until fully charged.

Oops... no more upvoting for couple days. Quick math tells me that I will need 500 steempower until my upvote can give someone 2 cents of income. Great news. So what I learned?

-Max 10 upvotes per 24 hours, think carefully who you want to vote for!
-Collect only Steempower until you got that 500 balance
-Leave quality comments for hope to get some rewards for those
-Follow all the possible channels who are donating STEEM or SBD
-Convert all possible incomes to Steempower

max-bender-560106-unsplash.jpg

Next day. Uploading first time to Dtube. I was sure that Dtube post does not show up on Steemit and that you have to craft separate post for this platform. So I upload my video and choose kind of dark and not so great shot to be the snap photo. Also, I write a really bad description and off it goes to Dtube.

Time to walk with Yulka as no one will see my post on Steemit. Right?

So I come back home and start to craft a really good post about my video with a background story and extra photos. I press the post button and I feel good about myself. Fast click to blog page and what do I see? Two posts with the same title. Other looks good and the other one bad.

Oh no.

Dtube video had already got upvotes and some cents, So I quickly copy paste some of the photos and text into the actual video and delete the duplicate.

I try to change the shitty snap away, but it's not happening. You simply can't do that.

brooke-lark-194253-unsplash.jpg

So what I learned?

-Make sure that you Dtube video has a really good snap photo
-Think about the title and video description and make them appealing
-Before posting, write longer interesting and relevant text that you can just paste into the Steemit post
-Choose photos carefully and make sure that they are high quality

So darling, keep trying as it's very hard to be successful here immediately if you don't know the right people.

If you manage to get 2 cents, be happy and keep posting! If more, be amazed :) And have fun while doing all of this.

With love,

-Pauliina

Sort:  

@pauliinasoilu congratulations on receiving $1.05 on your first post. I post almost everyday and I'm lucky to reach, 0.50 on post payout on 90% of my content. Please check out @steembasicincome and check out their contest post. Try to enter as many contests as you can to win SBI. It will help you grow and you'll receive upvotes on all your posts. Good luck. 🙏

Oh thanks! I will definitely follow them, all the small things count for tiny creators :D There was one lady who got $50 for their introduction post and it's a pure mystery to me why some skyrocket into a "fame" instantly. Well, maybe steemit is like a model of the real world where the same stuff happens for some lucky ones.

But I can get better just by, so there is hope :)

Hopefully, you will also reach higher payouts in the future! I will upvote you when I get my power back up

You'll do fine, I have faith. Just like in school, you have to hang with the right people.

Hahah, I was in the weirdo group during my school years, so I did not really hang out with the right people. But I can try over here :D

Nerds are the best. Not the popular people 'cause they never know why people like them. Nerds know. If someone loves a nerd, it's because they really like the nerds caracter. Not their clothes, beauty, money of famous family.

One thing about those posts that receive high amounts of money: some may be organic upvotes but some are also bought upvotes. Paid bidbots and self promotes. So without knowing why some posts have such large amount upvotes and money, you should never assume that they have earned it just by posting.

I really share your thoughts about nerds and they really are the best. Especially after they find their way to shine their own unique light.

Voi ei, no, näitä kömmähdyksiä sattuu ja alku aina hankalaa, mutta rikastumaanhan täällä ei tosiaan pääse, muuta kuin äärimmäisen hyvällä tuurilla – sama on muissakin someissa; ei siellä kaikki ole kuuluisia. Vaikka pettymys menetetyistä kuvitelluista Lamborghineista iskee kuin Thorin vasara (itse tämän myös koin noin vuosi sitten), niin uuden realiteetin kyllä oppii nopeasti ja paremman suhtautumisen koko hommaan.

Muihin vertailemisen lopettaminen on hankalaa kun jotkut täällä käärivät $100+ dollaria per posti, mutta täytyy ymmärtää, että moni näistä henkilöistä on ollut mukana kuvioissa jo 2+ vuotta ja tuntevat "oikeat ihmiset", ja jotkut ovat jopa ihan vaivaakin nähneet menestyksensä eteen. Nimenomaan se ketä täällä tuntee ratkaisee aika paljon. Valitettavaa ehkä, mutta se vain on realiteetti, mikä täällä pitää hyväksyä.

Mutta, mikä tahansa yli 2 sentin täällä ansaittu on jo valovuosia keskivertokäyttäjää edellä, joka ei penniäkään perinteisestä somesta saa, toisin kuin täällä, jossa sometuksella ansaitseminen on hyvin suoraviivaista verrattuna muiden mediumien koukeroihin, joiden kanssa tarvitsee härvätä itselleen yhteistyökumppaneita ja myymällä sielunsa mainostamalla heidän tuotteitansa. Youtubessakin tarvitsee tietyn määrän tilaajia ennen kuin edes mahdollisuus rahoittaa videoitaan mainoksilla, ja silloinkin epäilen, ettäkö rahaa virtaisi kuin sammosta kaatamalla per klikki.
Täällähän homma käy melko yksinkertaisesti – senkus kirjotat, ei taida homma olla missään päin Internetiä näin helppoa, noin niin kun periaatteessa!

Hyvä että uusia suomalaisiakin vielä eksyy tänne!

Joo etenkin kun täällä näkee muiden lompakkojen sisällöt, joten veitailun lopettaminen on todella hankalaa. Mutta pitää vain olla iloinen siitä että on mahdollista tuottaa sisältöä ja saada senttejä! Youtubessa tubettaja saa rahaa kun katsoja klikkaa mainosta, eli katselukerrat eivät määritä sitä paljonko on mahdollista tienata. Eli klikkaa aina kaikkia mainoksia suosikki tubettajallesi :)

Ja joo, kömmähdyksiä sattuu, mutta mä lähdin ihan oikeesti sillä asenteella liikkeelle että "joo kyllä mä tiedän miten tää toimii" .... Yeah right :D Noh nyt viisaampana vaan kohti uusia pettymyksiä!

Kannattaa muuten tutustua @dustsweeper bottiin. Se on aika hyödyllinen jos sua äänestää moni samanlainen pikkutyyppi niinkuin minä jonka yksi upvote ei nouse (vielä) yli 0.0249:n jotta se upvoten summa maksettais sulle. Alussa ainakin jokainen pienikin ääni merkitsee.

Täällä lisää tietoa siitä:
https://steemit.com/community/@dustsweeper/ann-introducing-dustsweeper-a-new-service-to-turn-dust-into-profit

Ainiin ja ei kannata tuhlata upvoteja mihinkään yli 7 päivää vanhaan ellei se sitten ole jostain syystä tosi tärkeä juttu. :)

Ah! Toi on muuten mahtava botti! Kiitos! Mulla oon vaan nyt 0.003 SBD:tä, joten pitää venaa viikko että voin lähettää botille hynyä, mutta siis kiitos tästä tipsistä! Tulee niin käyttöön <3

Hyvä pointti toi 7 päivän upvote raja, mä pidän ton mielessä. Tosin mun pitää edelleen tässä odotella 27 tuntia ennen kun mun upvote on siellä 100%:ssa :D

Oh, I'm so hap... sad to hear someone else does things this way too. "I don't read manuals, I don't need manuals, manuals are for losers!" I love your attitude. :)

I just had to repost this (altough I desided that I repost only Finnish texts to this account) this really had the somethingwentwrong factor in it. Thanks for sharing your first steps in Steemit! :)

P.S.
It seems that you already know lots about blog posting so any n00b mistakes you make might only be Steemit related. But that's ok, I've been there too. On the mistake lane. :)

Eheheh, I'm also a very much independent woman, so I do not need help 99% of times. If I need, I ask for it or I will look up a youtube tutorial. Might have something to do with manuals, no help thanks!

I really appreciate your repost, it made me so happy <3

Umm, yeah, I had couple different blogs in Finnish. I had readers, but no one never commented anything, so it kind killed the feeling of writing. Maybe I will do second account (I can connect other account with this one no?) and make "Pauliina Pohtii" blog where I just write in Finnish as that is what I know best. Let's see.

I've had and still have blogs elsewhere too and as you said the fact that no-one ever commented killed the thrill of writing.

I have more than one account and I quess you can connect somehow the accounts. If you're posting from a smartphone I beleave there's an app of somesort where you don't have to log of every time. You can (I guess) switch between different accounts like in Instagram. But if you're like me, posting from a computer or a laptop, the best way to use different accounts is to use different browsers so you don't have to log out and in every time you use different account.

There's an easy way to vote witnesses using proxy with different accounts but I'm not sure if there some way to delegate the profits to one account other than manually.

I've created my other accounts with Vessel wallet. It's pretty easy and cheap, but you have to have VEST and some Steem to do that.

Haa interesting! Sounds like I should maybe power up this account before creating a new one. Then I could benefit more if I upvote my own stuff etc. A very good point about the second browser, I do not use mobile as I feel that it's just easier to type away with a laptop than with a phone.

You can upvote already your own stuff with this account. BUT some people don't see it's a good thing to selfupvote so they might not upvote those who already have voted themselves. So upvoting yourself with your small upvote might cost you the votes of those who do have bigger vote weight than you do now.

And no matter with which account you selfupvote, as everything in Steemit is visible for everyone, it's pretty easy to find out who owns which accounts. So again some people might not see that it's a good thing to regularly selfupvote with the first or the second account. Occasionally selfvoting in my opinion is OK. Depending on the reason.

I usually don't bother to look if someone has selfvoted their own posts and comments and usually don't care if they have voted and if I want to upvote them too. Especially if that account is plankton or minnow. But as Steemit is about giving and sharing and as it is a social network, I think there's more for everyone, me toom if I save my upvotes for others, not for my accounts. I think upvoting others rather than myself is better option in the long run.

And as it happens, sometimes I upovote deliberately and sometimes accidentally someones same blogpost with all of my accounts. So they get several upvotes from me. Sadly even if I give several 100% upvotes they still aren't together over 0.02 SBD. :D

Thanks for clearing out the etiquette, I did not realise that self-voting is not okay and voting from other account is not either! But what about paid votes? They are generated by bots, right? I would imagine that those are in the grey area as well as it sounds even worse than self-voting. I think I need to look into the etiquette better before I make any mistake I'm not aware of

I did not realise that self-voting is not okay and voting from other account is not either! But what about paid votes?

It depends on who you ask. In my opinion paid votes is just like paid ads in the "normal world". Some don't like bidbots at all, some use those all the time and most are like me: if the content is original, good and not a complete fraud or a lie, there's no harm in using bidbots or occasional selfvoting. I don't use bidbots but that's just my way of doing things. That way I see how many really like, read or would like to read my posts.

But then again there are people who use #nobidbots tag so it just depends on how one sees thigs. And oh, there are bidbots and there are bidbots aparently. Good and bad ones. And that's all I know about that.

Congratulations @pauliinasoilu! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60