Day 1 of the 31 Day Writing Challenge: Living by the words of Haruki Murakami

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

23murakami1_span-jumbo.jpg

credits to The New York Times

Who is Murakami Haruki?

Murakami is a Japanese writer whose works have been bestsellers not only in Japan, but internationally, as they have been translate to 50 languages. Murakami's most notable works include A Wild Sheep Chase (1982), Norwegian Wood (1987), The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle (1994–95), Kafka on the Shore (2002), and 1Q84 (2009–10). He was nominated for a Nobel Prize, but hasn't won one yet. If I'd have a word to describe his works, it would be Fascinating. His works seem to be drifting between reality and a trance. There is pain and hurt, but love and intimacy are also present. There would be plots, and sub-plots, and sub-sub-plots that would only lead to more questions than answers as you get deeper within each stories. His stories collective makes a kaleidoscope of chaos. A mess I would so gladly welcome. I decided to write about him for the reason that I have taken most of his words to heart. We indeed learn from other people, and writers always put pieces of themselves in their works.

final2.jpgfinal.jpg

The first book I've ever read from him was Norwegian Wood. It fascinated me because I am a big fan of The Beatles and the song meant a lot to the story. I knew it was a lot story, but I didn't know it would hit me in such a way that I knew I wasn't ever going to be the same person after reading that book. SPOILER ALERT: Norwegian Wood is set in the 1960's following the nostalgic story of a man and his days in college. He's fallen in love with the girlfriend of his dead best friend. He's torn in the war and protests that students are having in his school. He loses the girl he loves as she kills herself. There was so much grieving and pain, but throughout the book, one will see the man's love for the girl in every way he shows. I won't say much, please give yourself the honor of reading his works.

I adore how each character becomes an enigma until you reach the end of the book. Raising theories, questions, conclusions. It is up to the reader to decide, and can you imagine how special of an author can draw you into a world and let you decide what you want to make of it. I had difficulty grasping said freedom at first, I would always research about what each work truly meant, until I realized that it can mean what I believe it means.

Words I live by....

If you only read the books everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.

I did apply the literal meaning of this to my life, as it was applied in several other aspects as well. I started reading non-mainstream books and books that people my age would not spare a glance to. I believe that every writer should get a chance, and if I could extend my lifetime to read all the books in the world, I would. It also reminded me that being the odd one out isn't such a bad thing. There is something unique in being different, having a different thought process, different taste in things. Being different is fine. I became more confident that way. I didn't quite enjoy and linger on the things that teenagers usually do. I preferred staying at home and reading, I enjoy old music, I hated being unprepared but I also wanted to live in the now. Differences should be welcomed with open arms, the world would indeed be bland if all of us were the same.

“Closing your eyes isn't going to change anything. Nothing's going to disappear just because you can't see what's going on. In fact, things will even be worse the next time you open your eyes. That's the kind of world we live in. Keep your eyes wide open. Only a coward closes his eyes. Closing your eyes and plugging up your ears won't make time stand still.” ― Kafka on the Shore

Reality is a horrible thing, but learning to be more realistic and rational makes life much easier. I learned to stop running away from things, because they always have ways of catching up. When challenges are thrown my way, I think of ways to solve them. Create a flowchart in the back of my head, ponder solutions. Yes, it does hit you in the heart, but the worse way to cope is by not using your brain. It is a powerful instrument, indeed. Be brave, things don't always go our way, and that's just how life is. Don't waste your time closing your eyes on your fears, face them, they'll diminish, and your path will be cleared.

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.” ― What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

We go through doses of pain more than there is happiness in life. But deciding what to do about said pain, if a choice given to us all. Do we leave it at that? Not do anything? Ponder on what if's and what could have been's? No. We all have the choice to move forward. To turn that pain into a lesson and develop strength along the way. This, perhaps, is my favorite of all.

“But who can say what's best? That's why you need to grab whatever chance you have of happiness where you find it, and not worry about other people too much. My experience tells me that we get no more than two or three such chances in a life time, and if we let them go, we regret it for the rest of our lives.” ―Norwegian Wood

Do whatever makes you happy. Plain and simple. In the 21 years I've lived, I've learned that people will judge you either way. I'd rather make myself happy then to live my life enslaved by what others think of me. My life may be short, or long, I am not certain, thus why I will be living my life the way I want to. I don't want to grow old and wither away with regrets. I want to grow old, look at the foolishness the younger generation is doing, and go "Ah, been there, done that."

I do hope some of these words have provocatively stir something within you guys. Do yourself a favor, and read one or two of his works. Norwegian Wood has a film, feel free to watch that. Tell me what you think.

____________________________________________________

This write-up was meant to be done and finished by 10 minutes, as a task by the wonderful @arbitrarykitten through her 21 Day Writing Challenge. The first task was to make time for writing each day, to which I decided to begin now and to commit to. I set-up a timer and started letting the words flow, the alarm went off, but I still had so much more to say. And I have never been happier to have made time for writing, I feel it's going to be healthy for me each day. Grateful for this opportunity and for this challenge, because I'm not one to back down from challenges. I truly hope you guys enjoyed reading. If you long to participate, go to this link. All the love! xx

Sort:  

I truly abhor the NYT bestseller list. Seriously, it's just a high school popularity facade.

One of my favorite places in the world is the soon to be extinct used bookstore. There, I stroll gently thru the aisles as words slowdance and float around me, allowing the ones I need to capture my attention so I can "adopt" them.

;)

I share the same sentiments. The NYT bestseller list should NOT be bestsellers hahahaha Our public library is open 24/7, it's wonderful to go there in the middle of the night and just be one of the very few dwellers in the library, finding some old collection, drowning in the wonderful oblivion books have created <3 I'm getting dreamy now just talking about it

24 hours a day? That is amazing!

Yes! The mayor made it so that medical students can have places to study if they decide to pull an all-nighter in a more suitable environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82