Introducing Six-Word Stories on Steemit

in #writing7 years ago

This is NOT an original idea.

My first encounter with six-word stories was via LiveJournal. I may have contributed a time or two...I don't recall, but it was nothing I committed to on a regular basis.

Then, I found them on Twitter...so freaking perfect for that platform.

In Researching for This Article...

I found that it's a truly far-reaching idea:

I love it, and I've never forgotten during my time on the Internet.

I even attempted to bring a version of it to Steemit, but it didn't really gain any momentum. Grant it, I only posted 12 consecutive days, but I decided those 13-Word Stories would make better writing prompts. Instead, I should bring the original concept. 

History

The concept of the six-word story allegedly originates with Ernest Hemingway. 

As the legend goes, Hemingway bet a table of writers $10 each that he could write a complete story in just 6 words. Once everyone has placed their bets, he scrawls the following on a napkin and accepts his winnings:

 For sale: baby shoes, never worn 

This is unsubstantiated, but it's a nice story, right? 

Even ol' HuffPo is furthering that anecdote.

But These Stories Are Great, Aren't They?

There is something about the 6-word length that is magical and mathematical. It separates the true artist from the chaff. 

Writing is, by nature, a wordy art. It's quite easy to ramble on and on in type and not really say anything at all...much like talking. However, one gift of a true writer is brevity. The ability to convey the most information in the fewest words.

Thus, the six-word story is an art form. 

Unimpressed?

What about these six-word memoirs? What is your life story is just six words?

I was a fool to deviate from the six-word model in the name of being "different". Although, I do respect the journey and I'm thankful to have developed a daily writing prompt as a result. 

Will You Participate?

I will putting out a daily post using the tag "sixwordstories". I will check it daily, and if I see any interest, I will curate a post and share the rewards with the authors. 

I started to write that I didn't care if you participated or not, but I really do. I'd love to get something like this rolling here on Steemit. Even so, I'm going to participate whether you do or not. 

I long to hear from you in the comments. 

Thanks for reading. 💙

I hope you will consider following me and keeping a lookout for my posts including my six-word stories!

Project Uplift

Sort:  

I am in mate!!! I will be ready to comment... @cleverbot do that count as a six-word story?

I will exterminate you with my ray gun and my unicorn.

This post received a 5% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @thinknzombie from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Woohoo! We gotta taker, Ladies and Gentlemen. I look forward to your posts, @gashepard.

Great idea! I'll start writing.

About Steemitt it is possible so:

I came to Steemit to earn money. Released :)

I'm all-for anything to do with writing!

I did a series of two-sentence horror stories last year, just coming up to Halloween. That was fun too.

Have fun! Good Luck!

Ooo....that sounds fun, @michelle.gent! I will have to go and see if I can find some of them.

Yep, pretty horror story. Did you read "SLEEP" (Revised) - An Original Short Story by @lyxng, that was creepy to the max. Sorry to spam there quitedelux. I Love your six word stories, and the 13 word ones. They make for a nice quick contemplative read.

I've not seen that. If you have the link to hand, please share it? :)

I am on my phone so please forgive uncooth linking post https://steemit.com/story/@lyxng/sleep-revised-an-original-short-story-by-lyxng
It really is a good read.

Cool. Thanks. I really like to see how authors manage to say more in fewer words. It's an art form. Thanks for sharing!

For one time, challenge was taken.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67128.47
ETH 3124.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70