You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Remarkable Diary of an Earthship Eco Builder Chapter #2. The dream was born.

in #writing7 years ago

Wow this is a VERY well done blog on a VERY important topic!
I love that you get a bit into what sustainability and carbon footprint mean. Very few people really care or consider the impact of life style.
I dedicated my life to living sustainably over a decade ago and have built the community with the lowest carbon footprint of any I have ever heard of by living off of trash. @gardenofeden is only the beginning of my dream but already fulfilling it while continuing to get better and better!
Sustainable living is of the utmost importance to me not just because I want my children to have a healthy future but because I actually care about the earth and nature as something important beyond having a monetary value to capitalize upon for my desires.
The pictures and story you have here I feel are very inspiring and I hope that it influences many people! Keep up the great work, I feel this series will be very well received and very beneficial to this community!

Sort:  

Thank you so much Quin!I am trying to keep a nice balance between the story, the facts, and the detail! Yes carbon footprinting is quite a complicated topic when you get into it. I used to work in a carbon footprint company back in 2001 when these terms didn't even exist yet.. We had to try to explain from the very basics what it all meant. Thankfully these days it is a word used and known by everyone.. I will surely go to more detail on this as I write. Earthships have such a low carbon footprint, and it is Good to understand why!

and so important as you say is, do it for the kids!!
thanks again for your kind words, it goes a long way!

yes carbon footprint is complicated as EVERYTHING you do has a number in the never ending equation that is life. The world even in third world countries is living far in the positive footprint and it it taking its toll.
This is why real solutions are so important right now as people won't live sustainably just to be honorable, it has to save them money, provide comforts and be just as practical for it to become integrated.
Keep it up I am sure it will plant seeds that result in more sustainable living!

Yes @quinneaker! You are so on point, as usual :) I fear that most people are too comfortable to even consider changing there ways, too comfortable that they can not see the dangers of consuming beyond the natural boundaries set out by nature.

As you know we have been living off grid for 4yrs now but we still feel very much a part of the problem, until we are producing our own food even we are not living a sustainable lifestyle. It's takes effort, but surviving should, in my eyes if your too comfortable, your not surviving, your slowing dying out like a dinasour.

Yes unfortunately it is true~
At least YOU are able to see it and are moving in a conscious direction.
Most people do not even see it and are thus going through life unconsciously and dishonorably.
Change is not easy, even when you are aware of what NEEDS to change. It also still takes time especially in a world that does not really support or promote such living. In truth this world makes it far more difficult. Such as here in the states, its literally illegal in almost all cities to grow a garden or to build earthen buildings.....PATHETIC....HORRIFIC! DISGUSTING!
This is the state of the world and part of why I am SO adamant as an activist, educator, facilitator, leader etc because humanity is literally killing it self and the world.
I appreciate your acknowledgement and encouragement. Grateful to know someone is doing something with it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 68014.29
ETH 3541.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16