Avoid a bad habit

in #writing5 years ago

Today I cannot seem to be capable of writing. By "today" I mean this Monday, the one at the beginning of the week, since that's when I usually write most of my articles.

Anyway, I cannot write today, it seems. I had several ideas, but none of them seemed good enough to me. I think I already wrote like 5 or 6 articles, and I deleted them all, because none was good enough.

That led to a lot of frustration. I am pretty frustrated. I would like to write a few articles, then to be done with that so I can focus on something completely different for the rest of the day, like coding.

However, I can't.

When that happens, a lot of people, me included, have two choices - either fight your way through frustration and do your best to do what you need to do no matter how frustrating it is, or give up and do something else, something fun or relaxing, in order to get rid of that annoying feeling.

The only thing I can say is that you shouldn't give up.

Doing that, especially multiple times, will turn into a bad habit that will only lead to procrastination.

I would like to stop trying to write something decent and instead watch a movie. I would also love to play some games and forget about not being able to write anything properly today. However, that wouldn't help me with anything. Sure, it will help me relax, but it won't motivate me to do anything productive.

Breaks are great from time to time. Your brain may not be able to focus all the time on productive things. You will need to stop and do something fun once in a while.

However, do not make a habit out of taking a break every time something doesn't go the way you want. Even when you feel frustrated, keep working and feel that frustration rise within you until it will, inevitably, stop.

Then keep doing what you must do.

Sort:  

I sympathize with that because I can relate.
A thing that has helped me when I get to such a point: Write about something totally different than you normally would. A curious story from your childhood, a poem about the block or something else your audience normally doesn't expect.

I have found some other people on steem who write so utterly different stuff from me, in such a different way, it was quite the eye opener how diverse our writings can be, and that I have to not hold on so tight to what I think my "curriculum" is.

Also note that you have delivered regardless or because of your pain. Here I am writing a response, which means you sparked something in me.

Isn't that all you wanted to achieve anyways through the thing you thought you couldn't manage today? <3

True, my intention is to send a message to people, so I guess I did achieve that today, thanks :)

And also thanks for the advice, it's something to try the next time I'm gonna find myself stuck because of the lack of ideas! I thought in the past about writing things in a different way, but didn't think I should do it right when I lack inspiration. I know what I'm gonna do the next time that's gonna happen!

Thanks again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78