Slippery slopes

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


source

By Rick Fischer

It was a cold morning. My wife was, as usual in a hurry to get ready for the day. At noon we would go to her mother’s. I was feeling drained. I thought I wasn’t going make it. I was feeling envious of the cat, lying down without any responsibility whatsoever. It was a very special day. We gathered around the tree. We were drinking some “special edition” tea. Someone had given it to my wife as a gift.
That night I wasn’t expecting a gift. Last year my career hadn’t been professionally successful and I was down about it. Staring at the cat, I realized that I wanted to be like him. Just play around with some toy and sleep whenever I wanted. Finally, I found strength, I don’t know from where it came. The bed was still there. Warm, soft, nurturing. I could see her and she saw me, she was calling me. She wanted me to hold her, nevertheless, I knew I couldn’t be so. The next obstacle tiding it up. I had a quick shower with ice cold water to make it faster. I didn’t want to think about her nagging. It was a very special night and I was away from my family. My only solace was a pack of cigs and my daily shot of bourbon.
I had bought, on purpose, the most cliché gift I could find. A pair of socks. I didn’t want to waste time thinking about what would be appropriate. In reality, that pair of socks would have been the perfect gift for me. And now I could not have them.
We were driving to my in-laws. We had to rush it. I didn’t want to be late. Last night there had been a blizzard. My wife insisted on riding the bus. But driving there was far more comfortable. I was, deep down, a patient person. But stuff like that really ground my gears. The last thing I heard was her pleas to drive more carefully. Nevertheless, I disregarded them.
When I opened my eyes, the first thing I saw was the pair of socks I was going to give them. My big wish had been granted. Everyone was there mom, dad, and my siblings were all sitting around me. Although their eyes were showing the tiredness and stress of someone who is waiting for important news. Just as they realized of my awakening, their faces showed a tender smile. My wish had been granted I was wearing the socks and I was with those I loved the most. That’s what Christmas is all about. I had to spend another eight days in the hospital. Luckily my wife had been unharmed. The first thing I head after discharge was the song of birds. Spring was coming. All I could do was thank God for my family. Familly is all that matters.


the end

thanks for reading folks! merry Christmas

Sort:  

Dude! That sounds pretty autobiographical. Are you ok?

Yeah! I mean who writes depressing shit like this dude

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73