A Different Path (Mystery)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I remember I was walking. I think... I think I had gone out jogging like I use to do on every Sunday morning. I must have chosen the good ol' path through the woods. It's a bit longer, but the view... so much better compared to that industrial area road. The grass, the leaves, the trees that go past you. And then it is the music they make. All these birds and the little squirrels, the bees and the wasps.

I remember. 

I had my earphones hanging outside my pocket and I could feel them banging against my thigh. 

I remember.

I had my pink jacket on and I was wearing those black athletic shorts and a pair of pink trainers.

I remember I wasn't going as fast as usual because there was something in the atmosphere that made me want to slow down. Something mysterious. Something that urged me to investigate.

I remember I chose a different path, just for a little change, because I couldn't get lost, I had a gps on my phone and my battery would not go dead, I charged it just before leaving the house.

This path was interesting, not at all different from the one I'd take all the time, but just... new.

There were still just grass and leaves and trees. You could still hear the birds, the squirrels, the bees and the wasps, but they were somehow different.

I slowed down.

Something that was not supposed to be there was standing in front of me. 

A little girl?

It looked like one.

And she was sitting on a stump, rocking back and forth with her arms folded and she would not make a sound. She was wearing a dirty white dress. Her black shoes were all covered in red dirt - strange, the soil in this forest is mostly black, where had she stepped on?

I reluctantly stepped closer careful not to scare her away.

- Hello there.

I received no answer.

- Hello, I said a bit louder.

No answer again. 

I went to sit next to her, she seemed lost but knew that I was there. She slightly turned her head towards me but didn't give me a look, her eyes were pinned on the ground and the rocking was getting more and more intense now.

- You should leave now. He is coming.

- Who is coming, little girl? Are you lost? Do you want me to call your parents?

- Leave while you still can or he will get you dirty too.

- Who will get me dirty? Where are your parents? Do you know their number?

- He is getting closer.

- It's ok, you can trust me. I can help you.

- You can't, she turns and looks me straight in the eyes, and it's too late now.

I suddenly feel someone grabbing me from the back. I scream for help, I yell to let go of me! I kick and I turn and I try to get away, but I can't. I am dragged against my will. I am held too tight that my arms hurt. My throat is scratched from the screaming and my veins are now visible on my skin. I have turned red and sweaty. I am fighting, but he is stronger. I am pushed against a tree. My right side feels it violently. My eye is torn and it bleeds. Everything is blurry. 

Again.

I am struggling to keep my eyes open, but everything is turning around and I feel so dizzy.

Again.

Everything turns from blurry to gray and then... black.

I open my eyes to the sunlight. I am lying in front of a tree that looked like the one that met my face a little - or maybe a lot - earlier, I can't tell. 

I try to pull all the strength that has remained in my body, I crawl towards the tree and hold it to stand up. I feel numb, weak and dizzy. My head is so heavy and it takes a lot of effort to keep my eyes open. I turn to the left and there is the stump where that girl was sitting, it must be that same stump, but the girl is missing. 

Whoever did this to me must have taken her. I need to get to the town.

As I'm thinking all that to myself I go for my pocket to grab my phone.

Weird. I can't find my pocket.

I look down.

I 'm wearing that dirty white dress and my trainers are now that girl's shoes all covered in fresh, red mud.


*Original images (with Nikon D3400) and story by @ruth-girl  - Steemit, 2018

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

ρε φιλεναδα τι εγραψες..... resteem χωρις πολλα λογια ομως πιστευω οτι για να ειναι καλυτερο το συναισθημα θα πρεπει το κειμενο να το διαβασεις υπο προυποθεσεις περιβαλλοντα χωρου και ωρας.. γινεται πιο creepy..και μαλιστα αν συνοδευεται και απο μια μουσικη υποκρουση καπως επιβλητικη πηγαινει σε αλλο επιπεδο....σκεψου να ακους στο background ηχους σαν αυτους


λιγο υπερβολικο ε??... οπως και να χει ωραιο το κειμενακι,εγω βασικα περιμενω συνεχεια...

Καλημέρα! Ευχαριστώ πολύ! Η μουσική πάντα το πάει σε άλλο επίπεδο....
Το κομμάτι να σου πω θα μου ταίριαζε σε άλλο χώρο, ένα παλιό θέατρο, σινεμά... Μια ιστορία με φαντάσματα του παρελθόντος, μια ηθοποιός που ίσως έχει πεθάνει εκεί μέσα και κυνηγάει εκδίκηση. Δεν ξέρω. Μου έβγαλε άλλες εικόνες ακούγοντάς το.

Αν θες κι έχεις χρόνο, διάβασε ένα παλιότερο που έχει και soundtrack: https://steemit.com/writing/@ruth-girl/the-abandoned-train-station

ναι δεν εχεις αδικο..απλα το εβαλα ετσι δε το εψαξα αν πολυταιριαζει ...ηθελα να τονισω πιο πολυ το spooky της υποθεσης.... οσο για την αλλη ιστορια σου...την διαβασα,ηταν υπεροχη και πολυ καλη επιλογη και το soundtrack που συνοδευε το κειμενο...πολυ πετυχημενο !!!

How did you come up with this story? You can scare someone.. I hope this is no true story? If it is just a story, you are very creative, you made it seems so real.
Nice write up @ruth-girl

It wasn't planned. I wanted to write something with a philosophical touch but then this came out... Well, you can never be sure what you gonna get when you start hitting those buttons :P

Thank you @whileponderin! :D

Now, that's a very scary experience. Though this is fiction, but I can sense reality and realism in it.
Nice one @ruth-girl, I salute your creative acumen

It is fiction, but it steps on realistic images and has some hints of the paranormal (the dress and shoes, the red mud on these shoes - that could have been blood?). That's the point, make it look real and get you scared.

Thank you for your always kind words @samminator!
PS: I have some funny story for your challenge today ;)

Wow! I'm waiting for the story :)
My interest has been piqued already :)

You are so talented in writing stories. You make the reader create images while reading and this is creating feelings. Feelings of stress this time...
Have a nice Sunday!

Thank you @giosou!! It means a lot, as I wanted to write something more like a philosophical rambling based on the last photo, but it turned into mystery and I was like, "oh well, it's decent, let's post it"

Καλή μας Κυριακή! :D

Στο έχω αναφέρει ξανά , ακολούθα το ένστικτό σου ! Ακόμη μια φορά δε σε "πούλησε"!
Καλή Κυριακή . Αμήν !

Horror! Horror!! Horror!!! Scenes of tension is what I see; is anyone here with me?

I'm not sleeping in my room tonight...lol

Nice piece of fiction. #resteemed
@ruth-girl

How did you sleep? Everything ok? Are you still with us? Hehe! :P

Thank you for the support @dazzy! :D

Sure I am...
No one in deed should experience such ...

No one should experience that! lol — nice writing :)

Certainly not! Thanks!! :)

Woah that's an interestingly creepy story. Wondering who was "he" and what he's upto!?
Maybe a forest resident who doesn't like visitors and likes to take the hell out of people so they won't come again that way. 😃

His identity is left to your imagination. He can be whoever you want him to be...

Thanks for reading! :)

Thrilling and eery story. I wonder who is he and what is his aim. If he was only a robber why he make the girls get dressed the same clothes..

Could be a robber, could be a psycho, could be a ghost? You decide what he is in your head ;)

There were still just grass and leaves and trees. You could still hear the birds, the squirrels, the bees and the wasps, but they were somehow different.

It sounds mystical, the animals sounds are not the same as if they sense the danger. :)
Great fiction, Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading this! :)

You are welcome 🙂

I'm impressed. flowing story. makes me feel in the forest. then how about the continuation of the girl's story? really a full mystery story ..

Thank you!
Well, we don't know what happened to the little girl, perhaps we'll find out in another post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34