Lack of Internal Motivation? Read This!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello lovely Steemians,

Today's topic will be something that I can relate to so often; a lack of internal motivation. This is due to many reasons, but the main one is that the external pressure takes to much space in my daily life.

In this article we will adress the topic on the differences between internal and external pressure, and what you could do to increase your internal motivation. Let's go! 😃


Image Source


Dan Pena (the 50 billion dollar man) talks about two accounts here in life; one emotional and one financial. The more there is in one account, the less there is in the other. In the same way I think we human beings have two motivational accounts; the external and the internal one. The external one is the pressure that the surroundings are putting on you. For example, in my case that would be deadlines at work, how I should look, schoolwork etc. The internal one on the other hand is the pressure that you put on yourself. In my case that would be my goals within my different companies and what I do on a daily basis to reach them.

Personally, I find that the richer I am in my internal account the more time I have for doing the things I love, and as a consequence the more success I reach. However, growing up I’ve always listened to the external pressure; how I should dress, eat and work with have been determined what society thinks I should do. You could say that I have adapted to an external pressure lifestyle. Although, this is a lifestyle I work on a daily basis to change. Me and @williamwest talked last night and we both came up with the same conclusion. If I could listen as much to my internal pressure as I do with my external, I would be unstoppable.

So why am I writing this article? Well, I guess that there are a lot of people out there who is in the same situation as me OR just want to learn how to increase their internal motivation. So what should you do? Well, what you can do is the following:

1. Hustle during your prime-time of the day

This is crucial. Due to the fact that the internal pressure most likely are taking more energy from you, you should hustle when you have the most motivation AND energy. For me this is usually in the morning.

2. Set up concrete goals

I find that putting up concrete goals and deadlines are key. One of the reasons I find internal pressure so hard is because I only see the bigger picture. I only fantasize where I will be in 5-10 years and how much effort and work I have to put in to get there. This often leads me to not doing anything because I don’t know where to start. The best way here is to set up concrete and smaller goals. An example of an concrete goal would be to write 5 posts per week on Steemit. An even more concrete goal is to also have goals about what you should write about.

3. Make 10-days challenges

Another recommendation is to make 10-days challenges. This means that you for 10 days are committing to something that are in line with your goals. As an example, this could be doing 5 comments every day on Steemit. If you make these 10-days challenges every now and then you will notice how you soon enough will make this into a habit. A habit of internal pressure!

4. Reward yourself

Whenever you accomplish one of your goals it is important that you reward yourself. It could be playing a game of dota, going to the cinema, or buying that thing you have craved for months. Because just like Pavlov’s dogs you need to learn how to associate internal pressure and motivation with positive feelings. 😇


The list can for sure be longer but these are my top 4 recommendations for increasing your internal pressure AND motivation. If you have any other recommendations or comments feel free to post them below!

My 10-day challenge the following days will be to meditate every day. Which one will yours be?

TAKE CARE! <3


OTHER POPULAR ARTICLES
POLE DANCE WITH ME #1 : A DREAM COME TRUE
DISCOVER THE WORLD WITH ME #1 : A DAY AT THE BEACH @KOH LANTA
A DAY IN THAILAND l KOH LANTA l TRAVEL VLOG
WILD MONKEYS SPOTTED IN THE JUNGLES OF THAILAND
HEY STEEMIT - I'M SANDRA PASSIONATELY CURIOUS ABOUT SELF-DEVELOPMENT, FITNESS, MUSIC, CREATIVITY, TRAVELING AND TECHNOLOGY

Sort:  

This post has received a 39.85% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

To support our daily curation initiative, please donate 1 SBD or delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one fo the following links: 10 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP, 5000 SP.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Very good post love, solid advice ❤️

Thank you lovie ❤️

Your article is featured in @Shares UpGoat Project Daily Curation for additional mention and exposure to the world.

This post has received a 100% https://UpGoat.com sponsored by @yehey.

Send at least 0.01 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field. To support our daily curation initiative, please delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares.

Lovely.
@Acknowledgement

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71