You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Dialects and Dwarves

in #writing6 years ago

Oh I also appreciate the dialects a lot. They are living reminders of local stories with the people who still keep them.

A few years ago, in my country, the last native who spoke his local dialect died. He was a man over one hundred years old. With him died not only the man but also that dialect.

And yes, they are very inspirational for fantasy stories. I have given them an attempt, but they can also be complicated if you use too much a language that readers do not understand.

I liked reading your glossary.

Regards!

Sort:  

Thank you. That's sad about the last user of the dialect you mentioned. They are trying to ban Black Country from local schools. While I can see why, it would be a shame to see it die out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89