Integration and Acceptance

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I live in Germany for eleven years now. I met good and bad people, I have friends, colleagues and I think I have no enemies. Most importantly, I like my life here and recognise Germany as my second home.

However, even after more than a decade living here, I am still and (I think I will) always be a foreigner. Not only because I have a bit dark skin but also because I am using hijab, a piece of garment that I use to cover my hair. I don’t know why some people in this century still have problem with this kind of mode. Aren’t they the great westerners who belief in freedom? Is it free to choose what I want to wear as long as it is not hijab? Is it oke to choose any religion, to belief in any kind of ideology as long as it is not Islam? What kind of freedom they belief in? Freedom that suits western values only? Why do they think all moslems are terrorists or somehow have connection with them? What kind of media they read? Don’t they read history as well? Don’t they cross-check the news? Did they get proper education? Did they travel to various countries? How can’t they don’t know that ISIS killed more moslems than westerners?

I hold 2 academic degrees from German reputable universities, speak German fluently, have a stable job and both my children were born in this country. But none of those matter for some people on the street. For them I am just a woman with hijab (and two children), most likely uneducated and can`t speak German, must have no job and struggle to pay my rent, and probably have connection to terrorism. These are (I think) the reasons why some people (especially on the street) still stare at me: they don’t know my full story. That is how people judge, because they have lack of information. But therefore, actually, people should not judge, because they shall know in most of cases, they don’t have the full information.

But some people still stare at me. Because I still have sense (even with hijab, my senses are thankfully still in normal criteria of western classification :p), I recognize it immediately. First time, I let them do that because I was not really sure what to do. Second time, I tried to smile at them (because I naively think they just wanted to say hello but a bit shame to do so –at least many people in my village do so if some foreigners come to our village) and guess what? No one smiled at me back. Third time and until now, I stare at them back. 95% of them can’t look at me in the eyes (even for one second!) and turn their face somewhere else. With the 5%-group I made on average 20 seconds (around 10-50 sec.) very intensive eye-contact, some of them said something to someone close to them or to themselves (but surprisingly never to me, so I don’t really know what they said) but all of them loose the eye-contact-war against me. Yes, I always win the eye-contact-battle and I have no plan to loose it, not even once.

I have friends here. There are people who love and respect me very well. People with whom, I share joy, happiness and sadness. I know that everywhere there are angels and devils, there are open and close-minded people, there are light and darkness. I also belief that the “angels” exceed the “devils” in their absolute amount. But it always hurts every time I got “starred” by people. It hurts. Not only because people classify me as "something" but it hurts a lot because despite all efforts I`ve done, some people still think I am just another foreigner, who deserve no place in their civilised country. It is not the lack of integration, it is the lack of acceptance. Really.

integration-1777536_1920.jpg

Sort:  

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

This is hard for you I can imagine. Someone standing out, being different isn't easy to swallow for the crowd. It is not only about your hijab, but as the German population gets more and more divided over imigration policy your dress code puts oil into the flame. I have been abroad for 11 years and in spite of no external differences I always felt as foreigner. There must be something more.

Exactly, this time where middle east is burned, people come out the zone and try to get their life back, immigration is a trending topic. I think it is hard for every one to settle to the "new life". But I think education will make difference. If you think bigger, that for example German weapon industry takes profit if there is a war, than you should take some responsibilities toward the "consequences".

I very much appreciate especially your last sentence. It is really a shame and an example of Germany's hypocrisy to verbally preaching peace and selling weapons a mass at the same time.

I do agree that there are still people very much against "people like you", if I may phrase it like that. There's no denying. Those who have a real problem, they stick out, obviously. Hundred pass by, one yells. Guess who'll be remembered.

Though, I do assume most Germans do not have a problem with muslim people, people wearing hijabs, foreigners, "dark skinned people", or whatever. The only reason people "stare" at you is, because they think "Oh, I don't see that often around here".

I, for one, also "stare" at strangers quite often, but not because I "don't accept or tolerate them", but rather out of curiosity on their quirks, behaviours, or stylistic choice.

As long as a woman wearing a Hijab is allowed to take it off, if she pleases to, then I, personally, have no problem with that.

Don't interpret too much into people's stares and looks.
People just like to look at anyone, so do I. ;)


Edit:

No one smiled at me back.

And, no, smiling back to strangers is usually not common. At least, I wouldn't call it common.
Eye contact is a different topic for discussion and interaction. Again, I would doubt they mean harm in it.

Yes, I know most of Germans are open minded on this topic and therefore I feel comfortable in this country. But if you were me, who heard a lot of "different stories" coming from friends who look like me being insulted verbally and (in some cases even) physically, not only on the street but also in an academic context, where a professor told one student to take off her hijab in front of other students, your instinct would tell you different thing if someone "starres". My instinct oft told me "Oke, this is the time when you will get insulted just like anybody else". So what I think is not about "the most Germans who are open minded" but "the minority of them who just don`t like people like me".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61