Find The Elixir Of Life In This Post. (Just Kidding, They're Just My Thoughts On 3 Things)

in #writing6 years ago

Texting is a waste of time

I felt this yesterday. A Youtube video brainwashed me (with logic and good reasons that benefit me) to rethink about my texting habit.
Brainwash yourself too.

Do you ever remember much of what was said after you're done with 1 hour of texting?
Even whatever you remembered, was it of worth? If something really important has to be discussed, then shouldn't it just be done by calling, instead? Why did we decide to waste more time? Why did we choose to go from a faster way, to a slower one? Why move from speaking to writing?

elephant-1526709_1280.jpg
Elephants are cool.

This was so wrong, that I just decided to quit texting. If I wanna talk, I'll call.

I also reconsidered spending time on entertainment, like anime, movies etc. I seemed to always do it just to pass time, instead of for the actual joy of watching them like I used to, before.

From doing these 2 things, I get free time.

In this extra free time, one could work on increasing their "worth". That is, by:

  • creating
    Painting, music, video etc.
  • learning
    Math, Science, reading books etc.
  • probably something else
    And something, something etc.


What happened when I did this:

Like usual, my mind thinks what my friends are up to. But at that moment, something different happens now.

First, I feel sad that I don't text now, but, right after that, I feel happy because I remember why I don't. I don't text because I'm giving myself time to grow. And that thought is exciting.
No, I'm not losing my sanity. But thanks for asking.


On the flip side, texting is like a tool. If used properly in a regulated manner, it's definitely more helpful than calling sometimes.






Do we put petrol in our car...

...because we wanna go somewhere, or do we go somewhere because we've put petrol in our car?

I was thinking about this whole job thing today.

tools-864983_1280.jpg
All these tools, but we still can't fix HF20. C'mon you know I had to.

Why do we go to work?

I got a few answers like 'to live a life that's less painful' & 'getting money to feel happy by experiencing things'...I guess those are the only answers I got.

But honestly, right now, I can't relate to either of them.
"Why?"
Forget that, hear this.

I couldn't relate to them so I made my own answer.

We do jobs and earn money, just so our life can be worth our time. Yeah. Because if you don't do any jobs/work, you're just wasting time. So instead, I'd rather do something just cuz, you know, it's...better. It's better to, do.
Than not.

Plus, maybe I'll be able to relate to the second answer up there when I start working on something and feel like taking a break, right?
That's how it always is. You appreciate the darkness just because there's light.
And vice versa.

This whole goal setting thing

As a follow-up to the previous thought of working, I came upon this question, "Where do I start with this...'working'?"

I realized setting goals is actually just another way of distracting ourselves. Just that it gives more returns than watching your favorite show.

Woah, I just came up with that line. Pretty neat. Good job Sharan's mind.

"Uhmm...so, setting goals. But where do I begin with that?"

Having too many goals is bad, right? It'll distract our mind too much. We just need to have that perfect amount of distraction - enough to achieve the goal, while not distracting us from the goal itself.

Actually, I don't know this part. I'm ripping off my hair as we speak.
Just kidding, I don't have any hair.
I ripped them all 5 minutes back.

So I guess this bit is still a work in progress. We'll see in the future if I get a solution for this or not.

universe-1044107_1280.jpg
Give me answeeeeeeeers. And oxygeeen.

Until then, see ya.
Thanks for reading.


Sort:  

Hello @sharanaithal, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks a lot!
Sadly/HappilyThere's more of where that came from.

Congratulations @sharanaithal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73