You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lessons I wish I had taught my kids - Installment 1

in #writing7 years ago

Great advice. I loved these sentences the most: Could I have done better -- ABSOLUTELY! Do I have regrets...yes I do. But, I'm choosing to look forward because I cannot be living in the past and wallowing in regret.

I have a son and he is going to turn 4 in about 2 months. When he was younger, I was quite short-tempered and often lashed out on him. Luckily, I realized it was my bad temper that was making him cranky so instead of holding on to my regrets, I started becomign more patient and peaceful. This did wonders for my boy and soon he became happier and calmer too and my bond with him strengthened as well. We are best friends now and choose to be the same always. I am yet to give many lessons to my son but I wish he understands the importance of standing up for yourself. He is too young so is just learning to defend himself when an older kid or a younger, clever one hits him. He is too compassionate to hurt anyone but I want him to understand to at least stand up for himself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69229.38
ETH 3686.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43